376 pages to say nothing: HRC 42/100

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton
2 min readSep 9, 2016

--

8 September, 2016 | Index

Dear Hillary Clinton,

Gerard Mclean here, from Englewood, Ohio, just north of Dayton. There were 100 days from your nomination to election, so I’m writing you 100 letters. This is the forty-second letter. The others can be found in your USPS mailbox or online at 100HRC.com

Yesterday, I received a 376 page reply from the Ohio Department of Insurance (ODI), a request started in March of this year, explaining why Anthem BC/BS of Ohio had the authority to increase my premiums by 29% this year. In the cover letter, the agent all but said that the ODI was simply there to rubber stamp any request Anthem made. I doubt seriously that they investigated my particular case beyond writing a cover letter explaining why I was being unreasonable requesting to see proof of the approval.

The 376 page document did not answer the question I asked. I did not ask to see why Anthem requested such a large increase; I requested to see the APPROVAL DOCUMENT the ODI sent to Anthem. I want to know there is a human being who works for the State of Ohio who at least paused before approving the large increase. I think a 29% increase warrants at least that.

When someone sends me back a 376 page reply to a simple question, I think it is reasonable to assume they are trying to hide something; that they are lying. I suspect they are just trying to inundate me with paper, hoping I will give up. I won’t.

We need UniversalCare, SinglePayer, MedicareForAll. We are already spending too much on needless bureaucracy, keeping the status quo alive.

Regards,

Gerard McLean
cc: Sen. Sherrod Brown

Index

42/58

UPDATED: The eventual response.

The final, final response.

--

--

Gérard Mclean
100 Letters to Senator Hillary Clinton

Picking my brain will cost you a fortune. No discounts. Author; Monkey with a Loaded Typewriter http://amzn.to/1xxlLZB @rivershark @gerardmclean everywhere.