30HG Interviews | Marcus Chu aka @NeonManInAction: TikToker and travelling basketball superfan

Loz Intransit
30homegames
Published in
5 min readJul 16, 2023

--

Marcus Chu AKA Neon Man is a Filipino [Pinoy] superfan who reps his country from the NBA sidelines. I discovered him a few months ago as his content went viral in the leadup to the FIBA Basketball World Cup.

As a Filipino-Australian who values basketball and travel, his journey resonated with me. Part of starting @30HomeGames was the search for unique fan experiences around the game, Neon Man exemplifies that.

Philippines co-host the FIBA World Cup alongside Indonesia and Japan. Marcus will be attending games in Manila, where half of the 32-team tourney are based and where the Finals Phase takes place. Games being played at Araneta Coliseum (best known for the ‘Thrilla in Manila’) and the larger Mall of Asia Arena. I hope to catch Marcus in Manila but no plans yet on fan meetups or Neon Man’s involvement with the Cup. Make sure to follow him on Socials as he’ll certainly be at the heart of the action.

Tell us about yourself?
I’m born and raised in the Philippines, I’m a real estate broker out here!

When your hoops journey began?
Earliest memories would be the Philippine Basketball Association games, as I started loving basketball through the PBA before the NBA. Back in the ‘90s, NBA games weren’t as accessible as they are today.

Your interaction with Pinoys around the world?
They’re always warm, and most of them love interacting with Filipinos who are travelling. Even when they’re already surrounded by Filipinos LOL [I don’t meet as many fellow Pinoy travellers]… maybe it’s because the places I go to aren’t really the tourist spots.

Your superfan origin story?
Well, nothing has changed much really. It’s just that now that I’m making money of my own, I have the liberty to spend it on whatever I want to— NBA GAMES! 😆

I guess people just recognise me now, but I’m still doing what I’ve been doing for the past 7 years.

Neon Man becomes a featured guest for Filipino Heritage Night in Houston

(11m 02s) I’ve never been recognised anywhere. Not even in Manila… I’ve been doing this for like 7 years already. I only got viral this year, few months ago. I was never really doing this for the fame or the money. I was just doing this for the love of the game…

What’s your neon rotation like?
I only have maybe two or three neon shirts, neon shirts are hard to come by! Especially if I want it as plain as possible, I don’t wanna buy shirts with a big logo on it.

Favourite kicks?
I don’t really spend much on clothes or shoes, I probably just buy one or two sneakers a year.

Neon Man alongside the NBA’s greatest stars, as captured by some of the league’s greatest photographers

How do you find yourself in pics?
I actually don’t look for it, it’s my friends who tag me on those photos. I guess it’s because I’ve announced it to everyone when I’m going to a game so everybody looks for me on TV or whatever digital platform its available.

You’ve gotten recognition from notable NBA media and photographers, what’s that like as an international fan?
It’s great actually. It feels really good because I kind of feel like I have more connection to the NBA community—whenever you go to a foreign land, and people recognise you. Whether they’re your followers, media people or whatever. It definitely feels great.

What is your motivation?
I guess the most important thing that drives me is not money and not fame. Because I’ve actually been doing this for 6 to 7 years without any attention from anyone. It’s just that last year I downloaded TikTok and all my content went viral. But I’ll definitely keep on doing this with or without the attention that I’m getting.

Which NBA cities have you visited?
Los Angeles, New York, Brooklyn, Chicago, San Francisco, Denver, Houston, San Antonio, Dallas, Philadelphia, Washington , Boston, Miami.

I always travel with my family including my kids, so I always make sure that there’s something for them to do or look forward to in the area where I’m going.

How key is being close to the action?
For me, it’s either I’m close to them or I’ll just watch TV at home LOL. I guess especially for me as I’m travelling from the other side of the world just to catch a basketball game, I really want to be as close as possible.

Filipino Heritage Night with the Houston Rockets and Neon Man. Featured on the Rockets’ 2022–23 Yearbook and on @HoustonRockets Twitter

How was the Houston Rockets’ Filipino Heritage Night?
It was surreal, definitely the best moment of my fandom. I have no idea how I’m going to top it.

What are the NBA VIP areas like?
Some of the arenas offer unlimited food and drinks with your ticket. Although I hardly take advantage of it because every time I’m at the game, I’d rather just sit in my seat than enjoy the buffet LOL

I usually get a very big lunch before going to NBA games because I wanna be there every moment. I didn’t go to the arena to try the food or to shop there. I’m there for the game, to see the players…

Insights on being in the moment as a Creator?
Well the thing is, for me I’m not just capturing the moment because I’m not competing with the likes of ESPN or whatever. If you notice, most of my videos are on selfie mode. So I make sure my face is part of that moment.

Advice for fans who want to make the same leap?
I guess just work hard. It’s not as expensive as it looks but you’re definitely going to need cash before you do what I do.

Your travels outside of NBA destinations? Explored the Philippines?
I’m actually guilty of this. I’ve been to more places in the United States than I have in the Philippines. I know I should travel the Philippines more!!!

Tips for people visiting the Philippines for the FIBA World Cup?
Our cities are definitely on par with First World countries. BGC [Bonifacio Global City] and Makati, you won’t feel like you’re in a Third World country. But if you go to our beaches, it’ll feel like a paradise for sure and everything here is pretty cheap. I’m just not sure how the World Cup is going to affect the prices of everything, but any other time it’s pretty cheap.

Final words?
Let’s just enjoy the game together and appreciate what we have!

Follow ‘Neon Man’ here:

FIBA World Cup interviews
- Kelly aka @Kuroemonba: Aussie hoops superfan and artist from Japan Part 1 and 2
- Justin aka @justintbao: Travelling hoops fan from Asia
- Marcus Chu aka @neonmaninaction: TikToker and travelling basketball superfan

Read other 30HG interviews:
- Dean Lockhart aka @Karl_Malone_collector: Premier collector of Karl Malone trading cards
- Simon Valenzuela aka @dongmegatron: Premier jersey collector of Aussie NBA stars
- Australian NBA Tourism: NBA summer leagues and other pro-am summer events
- Australian NBA Tourism: Planning an NBA road Trip from outside the United States

--

--