“I’m Not Done With You Yet” (A Poem) — 25/30 April Poetry Challenge

Dallin Candland
2 min readApr 27, 2023

--

Dead-ends suggest that your path is set.

But a voice in the distance calls, “I’m not done with you yet.”

Patience in fighting, subscribing to the reminder your life is infinitely precious…

This is fruit you must partake of daily; it helps make your life delicious.

I know sometimes you feel sharp tinges from your life’s debt.

But today I call to you, “I’m not done with you yet.”

I see you trying to make the world a better place,

Encouraging your fellow runners, to continue in their race.

At the same time your rivers of worry cascade down a waterfall of fret.

I see your struggle, “I’m not done with you yet.”

I have a plan that is bigger than your pain.

If you could see a glimmer of it you would think I’m insane.

All you need to do is My part in your story let,

Because, dear child of Mine, I’m not done with you yet!

Fun Fact: I wrote this on October 18, 2021, around the same time as “No Sound Available” and on the same day as “Patience in These Pages”. Even though these were written in moments of weakness and confusion, they are all great strengths to me now.

They are blissfully imperfect, and that’s all they’ll ever need to be. The best thing in the world is that they are finally out of my mind and they are in the world now. They all get to breathe as they have helped and inspire me to breathe a little better, deeper, and with more gratitude.

I changed up some of the words today to ones that were a bit more fitting. The picture reminds me of a 37-mile sea-kayaking trip (would have been 40 but I got rained out) I went on for Boy Scouts in my early teens. I remember getting to the harbor and knowing that our struggle was done, for now.

We rode in that ferry boat to Ocracoke Island, taking in the sights. This picture reminds me of looking from that boat and seeing nothing but ocean, and knowing that I had conquered and my friends had conquered some small piece of it.

Yes, some of us lost things from the kayaks capsizing, and other things, but we were all alive. We had made it, and we were ready for the next adventure. That is exactly how I feel right now. I am in awe of the view, and I am ready for the next chapter to start. We’re just getting started.

Thank you for reading. Throughout April 2023 I will be uploading an average of one poem a day. This is Day 25/30. Here’s the rest of the poems I’ve shared on Medium

--

--

Dallin Candland

I believe in Christ. ADHD podcaster, writer, poet. Author of "God is Trying to Talk to Me"🎤🏃✏️ linktr.ee/dallincandland