DeFi Design Tips Vol. 10

Jon Crabb
4 min readNov 21, 2022

An ongoing series in which I record UX/UI improvements I have noticed in DeFi. This is my own competitive analysis, as I collect things I find interesting, useful, or delightful. As a DeFi designer myself, I want a bunch of ideas to test.

Read the others here: Vol. 1, Vol. 2, Vol. 3, Vol. 4, Vol. 5, Vol.6, Vol.7, Vol. 8, Vol.9

DallE generated — A photo of a sea otter trading cryptocurrency on his laptop. He looks so concerned! Really clutching his pebble for assurance. Hope the poor guy got all his funds out of FTX in time.

1. Zappers for everything! Show compatible tokens currently in the user’s wallet.

ref. Yearn

Screenshot of a Yearn vaults, showing the ability to zap in with a number of different tokens
I can’t decide if the Yearn UI is ugly or just refreshingly simple. But they do have some nice UX features.

I’m a big fan of zappers for the same reason I’m a fan of auto-compounders and strategy automators. They both reduce the number of steps involved, simplifying the user flow dramatically.

If you want to do some yield farming, then at best, the user flow is going to be:

  1. swap 49% of token1 to token 2
  2. add equal amounts of both to a liquidity pool
  3. go to a different page and stake the LP tokens
  4. periodically harvest rewards
  5. sell the farm tokens for something better

--

--