Kopi Coffee is My Medium Account

Sidqi Hatake
3 min readMay 20, 2024

--

Kopi coffee is just my medium profile name and not my name. From the sound of the words only, there’s not much difference between kopi and coffee. Kopi is actually Indonesian and coffee is english.

From the word kopi, I don’t have to explain where I’m from. But, the sound of the word is indeed almost the same in every language. So how did the word transform from the origin?

The origin of the name

In Wikipedia only, the word coffee is from the Dutch word which is koffie. It’s also very much explained where the word kopi came from because both almost have the same sound.

Kaldi the Anecdote, source Moss and Fog
Kaldi the Anecdote, source Moss and Fog

It was the Dutch (who colonized Indonesia) that first brought the plant to Indonesia for mass production that was transported worldwide. As the British never colonized, maybe the Dutch sold it there so they called it ‘coffee’. Which also has the same sound as koffie.

The Ottoman Turkish use the word kahfe (the sound is pretty much different) which is borrowed from the Arabic word, qahwah. If we’re agreed upon Ethiopia as the origin then qahwah might be from kaffa, an Ethiopian region. The French word cafe is borrowed from Turkish word kahfe. Qahwah also means ‘wine’ which is how the Arab identify the drink at first.

History of coffee

If you used to hear the history of Kaldi the Goatherd, it’s an anecdotal version. Because there is no credible source from any historical research about Kaldi. But it is fun to know this word of mouth story and it already spread everywhere across the world.

The credible evidence appears in the middle 15th century, where coffee was used by sufi circles to stay awake for praying or their religious rituals all night long. 16th-century Islamic scholar Ibn Hajar al-Haytami notes in his writings that a beverage called qahwah developed from a tree in the Zeila region located in the Horn of Africa.

Coffee was first exported from Ethiopia to Yemen by Somali merchants from Berbera and Zeila in modern-day Somaliland, which was procured from Harar and the Abyssinian interior.

Coffee Plantation in Indonesia, source Root Capital

Coffee had spread to Italy by 1600 and then to the rest of Europe, Indonesia, and the Americas.

All this historical information is from wikipedia.

Why I choose the name kopi coffee

So coffee can’t be planted everywhere. There are only some special countries which have particular weather conditions, with good soil to plant these special seeds. Indonesia is one of them.

For large mass production, even fewer countries can do it. After Brazil and Vietnam, it is Indonesia, I think. Or maybe Indonesia is below Kolombia, but still it is in the top five of the largest producers.

It’s a double jackpot for me. I’m very lucky after I’ve met coffee and then I found that my country is one of the largest producers in the world. So why don’t I simply put the native Indonesian word of coffee as my medium profile name? Not the strongest reason ever but I’m very proud of it.

So, I already post this :

The guide for understanding coffee

The health benefits

The variety of coffee, and many more.

I hope you enjoy my post on medium. Please follow me!

--

--

Sidqi Hatake

Feeling very lucky after tasting coffee. So, I am gonna write about it!