Replacing a second load bearing wall with a double LVL beam

Part 16 — Designing and building a DIY home recording studio.

Alexander Jenkins
4 min readMay 10, 2019

The whole story — part 1, part 2, part 3, part 4, part 5, part 6, part 7, part 8, part 9, part 10, part 11, part 12, part 13, part 14, part 15, part 16, part 17, part 18, part 19, part 20, part 21

Quick timeline note:

I’m finding that in order to keep the build moving along smoothly, I’m needing to frequently bounce back and forth between a few different parts of the build. When I’ve got something to a point that I can ask for some help from my family for a few minutes, I quickly shift to whatever it is they can help with. Then I go back to whatever else it was I was doing.

So, rather than posting my progress in a strict timeline, I’m categorizing things into topics (as much as possible), which will make it much easier to follow. This just means that sometimes you’ll see something pictured that’s unfinished that was completed in an earlier post.

Removing the closet wall

I’m hoping to have a couch sitting at the back right where this “closet” wall is. It’s a load bearing wall though so I need to install another beam.

There is a closet at the back of the studio that was framed in by the original builders. I don’t need a closet there. I’m actually going to use the front part of the alcove to put a couch that tucks in so the front of the couch is flush with the wall to the left of it. So, I need to remove the wall. But, as it turns out, it’s a load bearing wall sitting on foundation footings and I have to install another beam. This time, rather than a 1' beam like I used last time, I’m using a 10" (technically 9–1/2") beam. This way the soffit framing I’m needing to build around the duct work for the drywall won’t have to drop down quite so far. I’m diligently trying to maintain maximum finished height of ceiling wherever I can.

The closet framing is going to be cut out and replaced with a double LVL support beam.
The beam will become part of the soffit framing that I need in order to isolate and wrap the HVAC trunks in drywall.

Prepping the beam

the 9–1/2 inch beam arrived as a 20 footer. I need to cut it down to size and then double it up.

Using nails to tie the LVL beams together, making it a single beam

Temporary supports

Supports are up so the upstairs doesn’t end up downstairs when I cut out the wall.

Cutting out the wall

The doorway is cut out.
I’m going to salvage this header and use it in a specific place in another part of the basement. I’m cutting a hole in a load bearing wall so I can have a flush mounted A/V cabinet for the theater.
cutting out the top plate and then prying it away from the nails holding up against the joists.
Wall is cut out and ready for the support beam to be installed.

Installing the beam

The beam is prepped and ready to install. The “persuader” (the name I wrote on my sledge hammer), is sitting off to the right just waiting for its time to shine again.
I realized I can modify and reuse the trimmers/supports I just took out of the wall as well. This saves some nice cash and time. These will be the supports under the beam on either side against the walls.

Ok, so as it turns out, the beam is a beast and quite heavy. For some reason I figured it would be much more manageable than the first one just because it’s smaller and shorter. Nope =-)

After a few failed attempts to hold the beam up and tap in into the side supports, my father-in-law and I determined weneeded some sort of support.

This should work just fine. I felt like I was building a battering ram.
My father-in-law is chiseling out some wood that is blocking the beam from sitting on the supports properly.

Ooops

It took a bit, but I finally got all the concrete burrs chipped out enough to finally slip the plug out the top which had a much more generous gap for me.
I completely forgot to pull the extension cord out before I set the trimmers in place. I tried to slide it up the small gap but there’s chunks of concrete blocking it. After about 15 min of chipping concrete I freed the extension cord. I figured 15 minutes was cheaper than cutting the end and buying a new 12 guage wire extension cord. Freed at last. And now, to continue with the build.
This quick custom beam support ended up working great.
Done! The ceiling is fully supported and I love the open feel.

--

--