I Studied Programming And English. Week 9 Report.

Alex Kivaiko
2 min readJan 31, 2023

--

I've noticed that I often start various courses and drop them somewhere in the middle. Right now I have 15 to 20 different courses to complete, and most of them are paid. It's the same story with books. Probably for someone this will seem like a bad approach to learning and a waste of money. After all, it's better to finish the course, get a certificate, squeeze the maximum out of the money spent and, if necessary, move on to a new course.

Some people just need to finish what they started. I think that such people lose a lot. For example their time, because the course may contain 10% of really useful information and the rest is little used practice, which may not be needed at all. In addition, even after taking the course, you will still forget most of the information after a couple of weeks. Also, I often see in many courses whole sections with topics that I stupidly don't need now or in the future.

My approach is to study only what is needed in the current task. And if new tasks arise, then you can return to the course later. You need to be able to pick out the main thing. This skill cannot appear when you take a course to the end. It is perfected only at the moment when you realize that you've gotten everything you need from the source and put it aside for a long time.

--

--

Alex Kivaiko

📚 I study programming and English ⏱️Track study hours 📈Post progress weekly