New York

Astra Rai
2 min readMar 26, 2022

--

A subjective, bird’s eye observation of New York City |

People crossing crowded street in New York City
Photo by Ryoji Iwata on Unsplash

Fashionable New Yorkers rush along the streets of Manhattan wearing stylish, opaque, psychological straitjackets

If these coats were made of glass, individuals would see beyond the veneer of the next person’s fragile existence

Naturally, they refuse to do so as it would force them to acknowledge fractured versions of self

If self-actualization was a product that reached its carrying capacity, I’d gracefully bow out from the responsibilities of life and retire from my less than flattering “career” as an unknown, pseudo sociologist and distressed writer

A holistic perception of reality, in my mind, masterfully remains elusive

Time, by design, appears stubborn
It adopts an uncomfortable, unfamiliar pace as we age

As of late, I scramble to discover an inkling of hope in a world saturated in hopelessness
To no avail
Only to press the snooze button the following morning, feeling hopeless

My imperfections are glaring and repulsive
My reflection, an accurate depiction of my diminishing mental stability
Mood stabilizers for every citizen, unlike hugs, are always within arms reach
Unfortunately, my ability to love unconditionally has reached its carrying capacity

Spiritual, urban landscaping makes it difficult to see the forest for the trees
The terrorist within, strategically adopts the role of protagonist
In actuality, is the antagonist, the primary facilitator of a collective’s demise
The origin of destruction begins within
Not by terrorists across waters, dwelling in caves overseas

Connect with me on: Instagram | Secret Energy | LinkedIn | GitHub

Poem written by Astra Rai Daniels, “The Sober Coder” © 2011 , edited 2022

More poetry by Astra Rai:

Bread and Circuses , poetry inspired by Ms. Hill’s “The World is a Hustle,” “Imagine” by “John Lennon, and “Words I Never Said” by Lupe Fiasco

Top Shelf, a poem about my childhood basketball hero succumbing to addiction.

A Step Away , a poem about alcohol addiction and disease.

--

--