Offset ‘Father of 4’ Review (1-Listen Album Review)

atrebs
6 min readFeb 22, 2019

--

Offset. Many fans’ favorite Migo. “Straight bars” is the argument. He’s also the most talked about Migo since he’s dating Cardi. A lot of hype for this solo project. Especially after Quavo’s and Takeoff’s solo projects didn’t meet expectations in a lot of eyes. Father of 4 had a similar album release strategy to the first two Migos’ solo tapes. Release a single or two the week before and then drop the album. Offset said he’s going to get deep and vulnerable on Father of 4. Let’s see if he brings it.

Inspired by DJ Booth’s 1-Listen Album Review series (and Dave Portnoy’s One Bite Pizza Reviews) — I am creating my own album 1-listen album reviews. The purpose is to listen to new music with more intent and with a more discerning ear.

Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.

Let’s get it.

Update: I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Check it out for new reviews and general Music musings.

Offset — Father of 4

1. Father of 4 ft. Big Rube

Spoken word poetry by Big Rube to start. Good vulnerability to set up this project. Peaking into Offset’s life. Haven’t heard this from Offset before. I listen to a good amount of Migos and I honestly don’t remember Offset talking about his life like this. “Jordan, sorry I wasn’t there for all your birthdays” gives me goosebumps. This is amazing to hear from Offset. Using his bars in a way to get something meaningful across.

2. How Did I Get Here ft. J. Cole

What’s a 2019 release without Cole. He said he’s here to prove himself in 2019. I fully expect something unbelievable from the man from Fayetteville. The classic Offset triplet flow is such a lovable staple of his. It’s an interesting, unique take on a chorus. 16 bar chorus. Yup, there’s Cole. Beat stopped to let Cole rap. Him and Kendrick love that. Not the banger type I was expecting but solid.

3. Lick

Ohh what is this flow he’s giving us. Smooth chorus that’s floating over this flute beat. “I took a couple of my dawgs on a lick // Do or die, gotta survive, pay the rent”.

4. Tats On My Face

This beat bang. Metro? The ad libs are coming strong on this beat. So dark. This is straight from Without Warning. “Jump out the hole (woah) // Let’s have a dripping contest (woah)” might be the best sounding bar on the whole album. Ok maybe the “Hustler, hustler, hustler” part at the start of verse 2 is. Top track so far, these are the beats Offset thrives on.

5. Made Men

I wonder how many times Offset is going to say “drip” on this album. Using a heavy drum kit. Really accentuates his flow. Solid but not on the level of Tats On My Face. I compare the two because they’re similar styles.

6. Wild Wild West ft. Gunna

Gunna and Offset are going to be so buttery together. They need to build off each other’s bars. Let’s go that’s exactly what’s happening. Amazing trade off between the two to start the song. Offset came out for this one. He flexing how smooth his bars can get.

7. North Star ft. CeeLo Green

I hear Quavo in the background. This dark, mellow beat is nice. “Crown me the king”. He’s interpolating one of my favorite songs from Culture II. Love it. CeeLo Green voice really nice change for this album. His high pitched voice works well on this mellow beat.

8. After Dark

“Whole lot of pain, black in my heart // I know she ashamed, I broke her heart”. Glad he addresses it. This chorus is so enjoyable to listen to. Something about the inter-rhymes and short rhyme scheme. Sounds like his friend got shot in the streets and he addresses it in the intro/outro.

9. Don’t Lose Me

Another Metro sounding dark, spacey beat. Intro is him apologizing to Cardi. Let’s see how much he addresses this. “Coolin’ on the boat, in the ‘yo, I really miss her I really miss her // Demons in my soul got issues”. He’s talking a lot about temptation and how it overcame him. And talking about the reasons that he loves her for her. Ok Offset I see you on this one. Glad I get to see where your head’s at.

10. Underrated

Arghhhhhh eat Offset! “Tryna get more richer than the Jews” some people might be offended but as a Jew I fully endorse these type of lines. Amazing production on this one. Might be the best mixing so far.

11. Legacy ft. Travis Scott & 21 Savage

These three together. 808 Mafia beat. Let’s fucking go. And Southside. 5 stars. Here’s the classic Travis we all know. Double speed Offset flow to start his verse. Damn. Offset goes in on this one. Travis is unbelievable at choruses/bridges. 21! Holy shit. 21 building his legacy with this verse. Free 21! This one going up the charts.

12. Clout ft. Cardi B

Very interesting fast piano beat. Love this take. Fuck people talkin for clout. They do anything for clout. Gotta let these people live, man. “The blog and the media fake” It’s a tough society we live in where people don’t pay for information. Gotta get clicks these days. Cardi! Such a dirty flow on here. She mad at these people.

13. On Fleek ft. Quavo

Ah yeah. This that Migos feel. Needed this. Offset on the chorus with a Quavo feature is interesting. I’m here for it. Just happy we’re getting some Migos sytle. Metro must have produced this one also. Quavo comin with some bars. There we go. This is what we all wanted in Quavo. We love Quavo’s choruses but give us them rap bars also!

14. Quarter Milli ft. Gucci Mane

It feels like Metro is producing this whole album. I’ll need to check that later. These are some dark beats. “Knock knock who is that check the peep hole” is Offset bars. Another one of my favorite sounds on the album. Solid but quick Gucci verse on here.

15. Red Room

The only single from this project. He talks about his car crash and how it almost took his life. “I like to throw up when I think about the crash // Not playin’, when I hit the tree I smell the gas”. It’s gotta be so scary thinking about nearly facing death because of a car crash. He’s rapping so easily over this minimalistic style beat. The beat lets his triplet flow be another instrument. Definitely Metro. Really like Red Room.

16. Came A Long Way

“Young ni**a Metro make magic, know what I’m sayin’?” Yes Offset. Yes we do. This is a happier, more uplifting beat. Good way to end the album. Feel like we came a long way by listening to Offset over these dark, moody beats and now we’re at the finish.

Offset — Father of 4: Final (First Listen) Thoughts

Metro had his mark all over Offset’s Father of 4. Great song sequencing, which is one of Metro’s staples. Offset brought his classic triplet and showed off why people say he has “straight bars”. I loved how he got deeper and started talking about himself, his past, and his vulnerabilities. It gets tiring to listen to an artist without knowing who they are. Offset opening up is hopefully a crucial turning point for him. That was something that was missing from Quavo’s and Takeoff’s projects.

There were also some downs on the album. Offset did get away from opening up and resorted to his usual “straight bars” style where the sound is dope but he’s not talking about much. This can get played out too easily.

In the end, I did enjoy Father of 4 and think that it’s the best solo project from the Migos. Metro brought some of the best out of Offset and the features were on point. It’s addicting to listen to Offset rap, especially on these beats. Excited to see if Offset, and hopefully the other Migos, continue on this style of openness. I think it’s an important part of their evolution.

Top 3 tracks are Legacy (ft. Travis Scott & 21 Savage), Clout (ft. Cardi B), and Tats on my Face.

Again, I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Peep it to see new reviews and general Music musings.

Previous 1-Listen Album Reviews:

--

--

atrebs

1-Listen Album Reviews. Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.