Essential Maternity Items and Tips for Expecting Moms

Bridgette Tuquero
3 min readSep 7, 2023

--

pregnant with my three sons

Congratulations on your pregnancy!

As a seasoned mom with three pregnancies under my belt, I wanted to share some tips and recommended maternity items that I wish I had known about during my first pregnancy. These suggestions can make your pregnancy and motherhood journey smoother and more enjoyable.

daycare

If you want to get your kid into daycare, apply as soon as possible. My husband and I were on year-long wait lists and had to find a nanny until slots opened up.

belly butter

belly butter doesn’t prevent stretch marks, but I enjoyed putting it on my stomach after I showered because it felt and smelled good, I liked Burt's Bees body butter HERE

prenatal vitamins

Nature Made prenatal vitamins, mostly because you can buy a huge bottle at Costco that will last you your entire pregnancy at a great price (pro-tip you can also purchase with your FSA and HSA)

workouts

  • Your OBGYN typically clears you to do the same workouts you did before you were pregnant so I was able to continue doing my f45 HIIT workouts with some modifications. When I needed a more low impact option, I enjoyed completing these Bodyfit by Amy workouts HERE

sleeping

  • I loved this body pillow HERE (pillowcase HERE) to make sleeping on my side more comfortable
  • This pillow wedge also helped support my big belly in the third trimester HERE

office ergonomics

  • In my third trimester, I had terrible lower back pain and could not sit in a normal chair so I was able to more comfortably sit on this exercise ball HERE (accessory holder HERE)
  • Sitting on this memory seat foam cushion HERE also helped alleviate my back pain

clothing

go to pants: LULULEMON ALIGN LEGGINGS super high waisted, high-waisted, you can wear them to work out, wear them as pants, and you can wear them after pregnancy because you can order your pre-pregnancy size and the material is so stretchy it will support your pregnancy bump!

workout attire

everyday attire

  • oversized wire free bras, had to order XL and XXL sports bras in my second trimester (I’m typically a Medium)
  • under the bump underwear, I needed to order a size up from my normal pre-pregnancy size
  • dresses HERE, HERE, I was able to order my normal size and was able to wear these options after pregnancy!
  • for most of my outfits I wore oversized tops (which I wore before I was pregnant) with the black align leggings

shoes

my feet never swelled up, for other ladies who did have swollen feet, they had to buy bigger shoes.

  • kizik sneakers: I loved having a slip-on shoe because it became difficult bending over in my third trimester
  • FitFlop sandals are very comfortable, lightweight, and convenient to put on, plus stylish!

I hope you found this helpful! You are going to be an awesome mama ❤

For additional resources, explore my guides on:

--

--

Bridgette Tuquero

disciple, wife, mom, army veteran, tech startup ops leader, and assistant professor of military science at villanova