Your Essential Hospital Packing Checklist for Baby Delivery

Bridgette Tuquero
3 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Prepare for Delivery with This Comprehensive Checklist

Welcome to your journey of motherhood! As an experienced mom of three and someone who loves a good checklist, I’ve compiled this hospital packing checklist to ensure you’re fully prepared for the big day. Below, you’ll find everything you need to pack for yourself, your partner, and your baby, based on my experience delivering three babies.

What you should pack in your hospital go-bag!

With my startup operations and Army background, I love a checklist. Here’s the checklist I used when preparing for my deliveries.

Between my roller luggage and backpack I packed the following:

paperwork

clothes

baby items in baby bag

transportation

  • car seat: make sure to set this up in the car you will drive to the hospital so you don’t need to worry about set up when you go home (you and your partner will be tired). Also, per most state laws, the hospital will not allow you to leave without seeing that you have an infant car seat to transport your baby in.
  • stroller

toiletries

snacks

  • Your partner should pack sandwiches and snacks so they don’t need to leave your side to find something to eat.
  • You should also pack snacks to eat and water to drink for yourself after you are cleared by your delivery team to eat.

Final Thoughts

Being prepared with the right items can make your hospital stay more comfortable and stress-free. I hope this checklist helps you feel ready and confident as you prepare for the arrival of your little one.

Remember, you’re going to be an amazing mom ❤

For additional resources, explore my guides on:

--

--

Bridgette Tuquero

disciple, wife, mom, army veteran, tech startup ops leader, and assistant professor of military science at villanova