How I learned 12 Skills in 12 Months

Divyendra Singh Jadoun
4 min readNov 28, 2021

--

Following are the Skills which I learned this year:

  1. Flute (Musical Instrument) click here to see the video.
  2. Stock Market Trading & Investing
  3. Freelancing (Video Editing Motion Graphics & VFX) https://www.polymathdesignstudios.com
  4. Harmonica — Click here to see video.
  5. Memorizing a FULL Deck of Cards in 2.5 mins.
  6. Card Magic & hand of Slight. — Click here to see video.
  7. Deepfakes Creation using Ai
  8. Coding / Programming / Python ( Built an Algorithmic Trading System)
  9. Growing a social media account to at least 10k (without showing Identity) www.instagram.com/the_indian_deepfaker (10 k as of today and this channel has been featured by many celebs like Bollywood Actor Vijay Verma, Tanmay Bhatt, Dr. Chromental and many more..)
  10. Learning to write with both Hands (Ambidextrous) Click here
  11. learning 50 different songs in 10 different languages.
  12. learning Morse Code.

PS: Currently I am Trying to Break World Record in Memory which is my 30 Days Challenge. If you find it interesting you can visit my other post.

https://medium.com/@devi30dayschallenge/i-will-try-to-break-a-world-record-in-memory-in-30-days-f2fcca630ce6

So, Here my story begins..

2nd April 2020 [Lockdown Effect], The Day I decided to Change my life and becoming the best version of me.

Lockdown was a period where I decided I will become a better version of me. I have got all the time, No matter how long or small this lockdown period is going to be. I will work on developing myself.

So, I decided to learn a new skill every 30 Days. This thing which started as a side hustle has become the MOTTO of my life now.

I have already been doing this with few skills long back but could not keep up due to the illusion of me being busy all the time. BUT this lockdown period has given us TIME, The most precious thing in the world that we realise very late in life.

So for my 30 Days Challenge, I never formalised it into a full fledge PROJECT nor did I document the process. whether it is LEARNING MAGIC TRICKS, Photoshop, French, it was long time back

I feel alive when I PUSH the LIMITS of WHAT I CAN DO.
So, GOAL here is to see how far I can take my SKILLSET with only a MONTH of Rapid Skill Development. I will also be testing & Iterating upon my own framework for learning anything.

The ability to LEARN is a Superpower & once we cultivate this power, we can get whatever we want in our lives, and THE most important SKILL for the 21st Century is “LEARNING HOW TO LEARN ”.

We were always taught in schools that what to learn but never been told how to learn. This is a skill which is cultivated through practice.
One of the things that I’ve learned after learning these skills is that YOU CAN LEARN ANYTHING YOU WANT, while having a FULL TIME JOB, Social Life and other life obligations.

So my first 30 DAYS CHALLENGE was “To Learn a Musical Instrument” So I decided I will learn “FLUTE”.

Why FLUTE? and not GUITAR or other Instrument.

Few things I liked about Flute than any other instrument :

Feasibility : You can take Flute almost anywhere you want without any headache, it is a very light and basic instrument.

Cost : Flute is not an expensive instrument. You can get it for 100 INR.

Simplicity: This is a very simple instrument with 7 working holes. You have to blow air into holes and it works on simple principles.

Breathing Exercise: Learning FLUTE develops your Breathing ability like and is good for your lungs.

Last but not the Least TRADITION : Flute is said to be the instrument of Lord Krishna and I am a devotee.

So these were the reasons which I decided FLUTE over other instruments.

Here is my 30 Days Video of Learning Flute.

Watch Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSfa3K_Yu10&t=2s

First Month Learning Flute.

Few Learnings from this Challenge:

There are mostly two types of people who learn flute.

First type’s flute story starts from hearing beautiful flute music in the neighborhood when a person selling flutes while playing the instrument, so well that it makes us trick into buying flute, thinking that we, can also play it well, once try to play it, we find very difficult to even play a clear sound, playing music is far up high, for some time 80 % just don’t touch the flute again because they find it difficult to produce a clear sound.

The other ones are those who cross that entry barrier period and acquire this as a routine habit. Believe me, once you cross the starting barrier you get addicted to it. and this happens with all other skills whether you are learning coding, chess, or anything irrespective of the field.

Click here for next Part of the story.

--

--