I am Writing my First Blog on Medium After Long Contemplation

Devi Cadaeg
3 min readJan 31, 2023

--

A beginner writer writes to improve.

Girl alone on a higher part of the land looking at the mountains.
Photo by Donald Giannatti on Unsplash

I was in a long contemplation on what to write or what niche I should start talking over.

But, after a long thought, the verdict is to tell about things I know about or things I have experienced. Then I will move forward after that since there is more idea to touch on.

This is the first step I have to take, to write about myself.

Talk about what I did before or what helped me personally. Even now, what will become of me according to my plan in regard to writing?

Before Medium

Before going on over my first story on Medium, I tried writing on some free blogging platforms during the pandemic.

It was like a journal to cope while I was alone in a metropolitan area for about two years.

Writing online and on paper did help because I was also experiencing heartbreak during that time.

Thankfully, by writing my thoughts, I didn’t experience depression which I thought was inevitable.

Writing helped and my blog writing improved

On the bed, left hand typing on a laptop while right hand holding a cup of capuccino.
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Yes, I initially thought that blogging was like talking to someone.

After I’ve read through many blogs, it felt like it was a simple method. It’s like a place to pour someone’s thoughts into. It was beneficial for my mentality.

While writing, I did not only feel lighter. After talking about my experiences my writing also improved.

A writer who writes learns more than a writer who is not writing.

Do you agree?

Because I believe that someone who practices their thing does better than someone who only knows how to talk about it.

https://pin.it/51HQmhg

I realized that while writing articles these past weeks, I was able to widen my knowledge. I’m learning about the different topics I’m not familiar with before.

Then I will be able to write faster the next time if I work on a related topic again. But for my personal blogs, I wasn’t quite sure at first.

Still Unsure as to What to Focus on

Many contents on the web tell us what to write or what niche to have on our blogs, vlogs, or other content online.

However, it is necessary if we talk about something that we are interested in and in which we have knowledge.

If you are like me, who is not sure at first which topics to focus on, how will you choose what you will write or what niche to hop into?

Besides researching bits of advice online, discussing one of my interests would be ideal.

https://www.instagram.com/devicadaeg/

I’m a hobbyist so I will be talking about my hobbies maybe in the near future.

On that note, for my next topic, maybe I will be writing about it and sharing my knowledge to hopefully help others. Or just share experiences that maybe others can relate to.

Like how I overcame them personally, or how at the moment I was able to live with it and still continue trying my best.

Hopefully, this is a good start as my first writing here, and looking forward to more content I can contribute to this community.

--

--

Devi Cadaeg

Self-proclaimed writer, language learner, or a hobbyist in short. Things can be tough, but it won't last forever. Choose to be happy! Me: writewithpanda.com