Memento of Love: The Story Of Once In A Lifetime

Dijay Limbu
4 min readJul 14, 2023

--

Dear Reader,

We all perceive things differently and it’s okay. Similarly, everyone approaches poetry or even song lyrics differently. I kind of have a habit of incorporating rhythmic flow, rhyming schemes in my writing and i know a lot writers are against it. I don’t know if it’s right or wrong thing to do. My writings may not be everyone’s cup of tea. I think we all agree upon the fact that most of us don’t write to impress others rather to express ourselves. We shouldn’t always strive to be sophisticated using complex vocabularies. Sometimes we just need to let loose and have fun writing, creating stuffs.

“Memento of Love” is the second full fledged poem that i have ever written. This poem was written on 2020 and was released from the archives on april 20, 2021. I was inspired by the love life of my friend who was going through a lot. So this friend of mine wouldn’t completely tell me what was going on between them but was somehow hurt and longing. At first the title was something else but this time around i rephrased the title to “Memento of Love” and changed some of the lines in the poem as well. “Memento” meaning a keepsake, an object kept as a reminder of a person or event.

So now without any further ado…. this is memento of love :)

© Dijay Limbu All rights reserved

don’t know what happened between us
don’t know what’s going on
epitome of perfect young lovers
don’t know how things went wrong

we used to be king and queen
hand in hand strolling around garden of dreams
now we’re separately travelling places out and about to forget what we had
our kingdom’s crumbling beneath our feet
question lingers are we still a thing?

i’m quite unaware
i don’t know what, when, how
do we need time and space to figure things out?
you strummed my guitar
tried to make a melody with an open heart
it’s just tragic that we’re on the edge of falling apart
our secret little rendezvous… are they over?
our smiles withered away like ephemeral flower
our hopes, our dreams, our whims blown away by the wind, will they ever be found?

will love follow us now?
will love find us now?
will i ever get to hold you in my arms again… someday, somehow?
was it something you said?
was it something i did?
i don’t want us to drown in sorrow and grief

in the dark alleys of life
you were my guide
you were my light
all these years we were together
can’t we be stronger and better than ever?
don’t leave me stranded while i want to pull you closer
my love, you and i forevermore

this love is fragile but we both know it’s real
everyone’s watching, trying to get in and ruin everything
let’s just escape to a secret place for now
a place just for you and me far away from this wretched people’s town

what we lost in the blazing fire can’t be regained
only god knows if things work out and we’ll ever meet again
i pray and have faith on this memento of love
darling, can i expect the same from you or not?
’cause all i’ve got is cardboard box full of photographs
and they scream love you to moon and back

Liner Notes:

April 20, 2021 released from the archives

It think it was around 11pm after having conversations with my friend the idea for this poem sparked in my mind, whatever happened or the things i knew about them was kind of inspiring and later that night i thought to myself if i was breaking up with the girl that i love what would i say to her? what would i want her to know what i feel about her. So, these ideas kept coming to me and i jot them down as quickly as possible before i fell asleep and forget everything about it.

The first two stanza came to me as it is right now it took me some time to reshape and write down the other stanzas and within like 2, 3 days i ended up finishing this poem about the memento of love which is basically narrating through a man’s perspective cherishing the good old things as a couple he had with his girl before the downfall. It’s kind of a nostalgic experience looking back at things that were beautiful and worthwhile, having faith, being hopeless romantic thinking that someday there might be reconciliation… or not

I would love to hear from you guys. So if you want you can leave your opinions in the comment section below.

© Dijay Limbu 2023 All rights reserved

My other works:

Beloved John: Pages From The Diary

Muse: The Unrequited Love

--

--