Global Student Program IV — Conclusion: We come different but leave in common. We are disciples.

廖盛平
2Steps
Published in
4 min readAug 14, 2019

“There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all. (EPH 1:4–6)

2019/08/03, GSP kicked off.

To me, the true start of GSP was never in June but on August 3rd. It was the time that we were well-trained, well-prepared, left for our hometown with a strong will to practice what we learned here. When does the program end? Never. As long as we still stood firm and love people around us, the program never ends.

One God, One Lord, One Father and One Spirit.

On my way home, EPH 1:4–6 come to me suddenly. Just found how miracle it was for the long last Gospel. Take us for instance. We come from 20 different countries and multiple cultural backgrounds. But we believe in the same God, same Spirit, same Father, same Lord, tasting the same Love, holding the same Hope, standing firm with the same Faith.

Not to mention all these has lasted for 2000 years, tens and thousands of men and women holding and sharing the same belief that we have today. And it never changes. To where we could find something withstand so long and never change!

Only the miraculous gospel. The salvation that we believe in and lean on.

Painful but Joyful farewell.

The very last Friday, I stayed up late for the whole night, even though it was a bit too risky base on my health situation. But l clearly knew once I went sleep, it would be even harder when it comes to saying goodbye to my brothers and sisters. I took a long nap in the afternoon, preparing for a long night.

At 4 am, people started to leave. I felt so weird and painful when I waved and saw a car with a group of my brothers and sisters disappeared at the end of my sight. It seems like part of me scattered and then disappeared as the car, couldn’t find it anymore. That might be the reason for all the tears I had even now when I’m writing the article. As each of you left, it reminded me again and again that the program came to end official end.

But at the same time, I do feel joyful when I saw cars leaving. The scene of each you left and flew out was just like 2000 years ago when Jesus sent the twelve disciples out two by two. We came here and built up a beautiful relationship with each other. Today we left, bringing back all we learned here, community and unity, Love, His will on the nations etc, to different corners of the world.

The consequences? Jesus’ name had become well known.

“We come different but leave in common. We are disciples.”

That might be one of the most impressive lessons I’ve learned in Summer. We came here so differently, with different cultures and backgrounds, but in God, we are one.

Through Him, we are more than we are, we are one.

So that’s all of the tetralogies. I apologize in the last that my language ability kind of limits me to share all my heart with you. But I would keep going, trying to write something to reflect on what I learned in the state and practice back in Taiwan.

One of my dreams now is visiting each of you in your country and have a chat with you guys. I would try my best to make it happen, but if I fail, see you all in Heaven !!!

You’re welcome to leave some comments under. Also, you’re welcome to leave your prayer requests, or you can text me privately for that. It would be my pleasure to pray for each of you.

Missed you all 2019 GSPers & Staff team & Glen Staff. In memory of each of you.

--

--