Global Student Program II — Volunteer work: “Hey, What can I pray for you Today?”

廖盛平
2Steps
Published in
3 min readAug 10, 2019

Working here in King James might be one of the most impressive takeaways over the past two months.

I had a hard time to talk with strangers for years. Failed to figure out a good start, good questions that can trigger a small talk, that is the reason for me when trying to build up a relationship with strangers.

But here in King James, you got to speak with strangers. Not one or two, but lots of strangers.

I spent like three weeks getting used to speaking with them. From silently grabbed away people’s plates to asking people “ hey how are you doing today? May I grab your plate for you?” God challenged me to step out of my comfort zone.

Well…It’s actually my birthday today.

Then she came in on a normal morning. She’s Nancy, an elder lady who had her birthday alone in Glen. I served she several times, seeing her silently gazing at the mountains around the property.

Then the Spirit spoke.

“Hey go pray for her!”

“Nope! I don’t even know who she is and what to pray” I answered with anxious.

“Just go, it’s only a prayer.”

Apparently, I had no choice. “Hey, you better come with me and told me what to speak!” It’s the last words I speak to the Spirit.

Photo by Lan Pham on Unsplash

“ Hey how are you doing today?”

“ Good! And you?”

“Feel good too! Are you here for vacation?

“Yup! Actually it’s my birthday today!”

“Wow that’s fantastic!”

Then I saw her grabbing her bag going to leave. Time is running out. I have to make a decision now. Do it or miss it.

“ Hey, May I pray for you now? It’s your birthday today .”

I could tell how surprised she was from her suddenly shine eyes. The moment, I knew I made the right decision.

Literally, the prayer itself was awful. Fell with repeated words. And my mind went blank several time. However, everything was different when the Spirit among us. I wasn’t surprised at all to see a lovely smile appeared on Nancy’s face when I opened my eyes after the prayer.

I got several chances to pray for our customers later in the program. I still struggled all the time. But those prayers always offered me a chance to experience Him again.

Sometimes I wondered what the prayers mean to our customer all the time, but the smiles on their faces explain everything.

“What can I pray for you?”

You’re welcome to leave your prayer requests in comment areas. Or you’re welcome to text me privately for that. It would be my pleasure to pray for you.

--

--