Two Categories of Writers

Which one are you?

Hazel Paradise
2 min readAug 25, 2023
Photo by Amy Hirschi on Unsplash

We all have to keep on learning.

I’ll keep this short for today. I hope you won’t mind. If you want to read more about self-publishing and making money online, then this is the best article for you.

There are two categories of writers.

The first one is I’ve got this figured out.”

The second one isI can figure this out.

Pay attention to the tone. The first one sounds arrogant and overconfident. Being overconfident will not lead anyone anywhere.

Maybe you had a good time today. Maybe you are making tons of money today. But what about tomorrow?

I was this in my 20s. I know, not good.

watch the second one. I can figure this out.

It sounds more humble.

What does a successful writer do? They keep on learning.

Do you want to make money as a writer? Do you want to make money from those drafts that have been lying in the abandoned folder of your computer for a very long time?

Dear writers, there are many writers on Medium who are sharing their writing journey with you.

Learn. Learn. Learn from them and grow.

Even after 9 years, I still think I don’t know enough. When I was alone, self-publishing on KDP (it’s lonely, I admit!), I used to think I was brilliant!

Every time those numbers on my KDP dashboards increased, I used to feel confident that I could now make money as a writer. I have got this figured out! Finally!

Money changes us, right? Well, that confidence changed into overconfidence, and I never knew that. We can’t measure, can we?

But when I came here on Medium, well, the game changed. There are so, so many good writers who make way more money than me. They know so much more than me. Honestly, there are so many new writers on Medium who can do better than the rest of us.

I still have a lot to learn.

Be humble. Be open-minded. And keep on learning.

You’ll see yourself at the finish line soon.

Take care.

--

--

Hazel Paradise

Top Writer On Medium. Writer of 90+ books under multiple pen names. Yes, I make money writing ebooks. https://hazelparadise.gumroad.com/l/fclinr