Why aren’t toe socks more common?

Jack Russillo
3 min readMay 4, 2015

Well, my dear Watson, I happen to think that it’s actually quite elementary…

I’ve considered myself to be a pretty huge fan of socks. On a small budget, I’ve been able to accumulate two large drawers of socks. Each pair is different from the last and depicts a completely different subject or presents various color schemes.

I have socks for all kinds of things, style and sports included. Although I have quite an extensive collection of socks, I don’t have a single pair of toe socks with me at school. Sure, I have a couple pairs back home, but there’s a reason that I left them there instead of bringing them with me.

Toe socks are way less common to see on people’s feet but, when you think about it, they make a lot more sense than regular socks.

To an extent, at least.

Toe socks fit exactly to how our feet are shaped. That’s how the rest of our clothes work. Even most gloves have places for each individual finger to stay nice and cozy inside of. Socks, for whatever odd reason, were not made in the same way.

But, when you think about it a little bit more, you actually do realize that it’s a much better idea to make socks the way they are now.

Toe socks require more labor to manufacture and they aren’t even as comfortable as regular socks. Toes are hard to determine a “normal” size for and so the various toe slots in the socks fit differently on my toes.

I’ll tell you, it’s not very fun walking around all day when four of your ten toes are being choked to death. And I don’t care if it’s a little cold out, but wearing socks with flip-flops is just not acceptable.

Hopefully, toe socks were not invented just so that people can wear socks at the beach.

If it’s too cold to wear flip-flops barefoot, it’s too cold to wear them at all…

There isn’t too much to talk about here. Socks are socks no matter whether or not they have places for individual toes to nestle into.

But I am going to continue buying normal socks instead of toe socks. They’re usually less expensive, more comfortable, and they’ll probably last for a little longer.

But hey, that’s just my opinion…

Sorry toes, I guess you’re all just going to have to get used to sharing sock space with each other.

The Rating: 37/100

Pro: They’re a little more fun than typical socks…

Con: But there’s a much more comfortable reason that normal socks are more common than toe socks.

About me:

My name is Jack Russillo and I’m a college freshman who just moved to the big city (Seattle) from a small town in the middle of nowhere. Every day I rate something on a scale of 1 to 100.

Comments, criticisms, your own rating, or any other topics you’d like me to rate? Tweet me @jackrussillo or follow me on Medium to get my daily posts.

Feel free to hit the “recommend” button if you liked my post so that others may find it and enjoy it as well.

See the rest of my ratings here:

--

--

Jack Russillo

A Pacific Northwest archipelagan exploring the outdoors and spreading culturally-respectful and sustainable perspectives on the preservation of natural spaces.