Journey to 100!

JD Bailey
4 min readOct 17, 2017

--

Journey to 100!

Read about my entire #Journeyto100 on medium here:

First 50, Food Log, See it Through, Law of Attraction, Vegan,

“IF you commit yourself 100% its virtually certain to happen — unless you die or change your mind….”

Throughout this whole year, I realized that I have become obsessive striving to hit this goal that I named the “Journey to 100.” When you make a decision to accept a challenge far more difficult than anything you have accomplished, that obsessiveness and hunger for more is necessary in my opinion. After 8 grueling months, after all the juice cleanses, after all the fasted morning workouts, and most importantly after overcoming the self doubt, I can proudly say that I have hit my goal and finally lost 100lbs!

There was an immediate weight and stress that lifted off my shoulders when I read the scale and realized that I hit my goal. The whole process was definitely more mentally challenging even though I was physically making drastic changes in my diet and work out routines. During the process of writing and updating this Journey to 100 blog, I found that I did not feel inspired to write when I had little to no progress in my weight loss. But that would have been the best and most necessary time to write, so that I could connect with the people that are actually listening to keep me going and spark that motivation up once again.

This was my first major goal and I plan to keep going until I lose another 20–25lbs by the end of the year. But my focus will now transfer to helping my family and more specifically my mother with overcoming some diabetes complictions. So far, by just changing her diet she has lost over 25lbs and recently switched to an all vegan diet in September. We are currently working with some doctors and herbalists to get her off of the insulin and medication that she has been taking for 7 years. She was already prescribed to lower her insulin by 50% after only a 3 weeks of becoming vegan and hopefully continues to decrease until the medication is no longer mandatory.

If there is anyone else looking to lose weight or change their diets to hit their fitness goals, I am definitely open to sharing more specific information to help out where possible. I will continue to plug some of the products and excercises that helped me out along the way, which will be on my social media @jd_bailey93 on IG.

Favorite Hikes: Malibu Trails

Diet changes:

I definitely found some meals that I enjoyed during my time keeping a vegan diet and I could see myself keeping around some of the habits I learned from the experience such as reading the labels carefully.

#GymJamz

  1. Lifted- MXXWLL
  2. All Bad- J.I.D.
  3. Let Me Talk My Shit- Derin Falana
  4. OooWee- Rapsody ft. Anderson Paak
  5. Home- Lute ft. Elevator Jay
  6. Gazi- A.Chal
  7. Control Me- Uncle Chucc
  8. Waiting- FKJ ft. Madelyn Grant

Before and After pictures:

My heaviest @ 315lbs in Feb. 2017
Mid April @ 280lbs
Mid June 260–270
Middle Botttom 245lbs, Bottom Right @ 250lbs
Early September @ 225lbs
First Day hitting 215b (October 12th)

Results:

Waist:

Before- 46

After- 38

Shirt Size

Before- XXXL

After- L/XL depending on brands

The internal changes I notice now that I’m focusing on my fitness more is the increase in energy throughout the day. I used to have a groggy feeling after waking up that would last until about 1pm and now I can start feeling productive within an hour of waking up. Also the difference in my skin and how it has cleared up more, compared to when I had bad acne problems. The biggest changes always came when I stopped making excuses about my diet and stayed true to a plan. My X-factors were definitely the monthly juice cleanses, fasted cardio in the morning and eating mostly plant based foods frequently throughout the day. I’m excited to share this knowledge and get results from the people in my circle that are looking to improve their health!

Best Regards,

-JD Bailey

--

--