About Dani

Jen Cheng
3 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

Sophie and Dani (L-R), image from Showtime’s The L Word: Generation Q

Imagine if the L-word characters got to tell you more about how they are feeling! From Sophie confessing about Dani.

Damn, she’s fine and
she knows how to work my mind.
To propose to wisk me away to Hawaii
so she can be my wife
that is anyone’s romantic dream.

It’s just that…
what brought us together
her, the super-achiever, and so many things about her I admire…
it’s killing me now.

She’s like a fire that doesn’t stay on.
At a whim, work will always be more important to her than me.
Like, she expects me to be around like a parked car
There, when she’s ready for me, when she wants me
but not demanding or needing her when she doesn’t have room for me.

What about what I need?
When I have had a shitty day or my grandma is in the hospital
I need to cry on someone’s shoulder
when my throat is choked up
I want her to hold me.
Is that too much to ask?

Dani, with the composure of steel
even when her father breaks her heart
she just won’t talk to me.
What are we, if she can’t or won’t talk to me?
Yeah, the sex is great
and she has the money to provide for me
and give me my dreams of children and a family
but can she just open up, have open arms reliably
not just sometimes, but all the time?

I don’t want to be her parked car.
I want her to open her heart
share my ups and downs.
That life is messy
That the world doesn’t revolve around her
That our love isn’t enough if she can’t be here
be REAL with me.

I just want her to be real with me, shed her armor
So we can have an “US,” a love that is warm and holds
Both of us.

Please give “claps” to the poems and writing you enjoy! It helps rank this post higher so other readers can find it.

A link to a poetry reading, with this poem recorded live at Akbar in Silverlake (Los Angeles, CA) gives you a more emotional read on the character Sophie — if she had a chance to really confess her feelings. Queer Slam, Episode 19 (starting around 8:40).

As a poet and performance artist, I have a confession booth I have set up a various special events, where people get to spill their guts and I help transform their feelings and ideas into a short poem. As we want to celebrate diversity, and as an Asian-American queer feminist lesbian woman of color who wants more from our media characters, I’m imagining what some TV and film characters would say if they got to confess how they really feel.

Here are other L-word confession poems: From Sophie about Finley, Finley’s Confusion

--

--

Jen Cheng

Writer. Songwriter. Improv Comedy. Strategist. I write for kids, dogs, and adults. I write for parties. Writer for hire. www.JenCVoice.com IG:@jen.and.potato