About Finley

Jen Cheng
2 min readFeb 12, 2020

--

Sophie and Finley (L-R), from The L Word: Generation Q

Imagine if the L-word characters got to tell you more about how they are feeling! From Sophie confessing her feelings about Finley.

like a loyal dog, she knows to come help me lick my wounds
she’s not just a buddy, she knows how to feel and comfort me
when i’m with her, i can feel she’s really there
she’s present
and that is her gift.

she feels the room and knows what i need
she gives me a hug in the hospital
when she sees how hard it is for me to hold strong in front of my mom and sister
she gives that hug with a fierceness, that no matter what is wrong
it will be all right
and i believe her
i don’t know why
but there is something about her that is so real
it’s such a contrast to my fiance who sometimes feels like she has a heart of steel

it’s so easy to have a good time with Finley
like pouring a beer from the tap
no fuss, no trying
just so easy to BE.

how can i let her go?
she only wants what’s best for me
so selflessly so
i don’t know if i can let her go
if she might be really my soulmate
if she isn’t the one, then why do i ache for her?
she was under my nose all this time
maybe i’m supposed to start a new chapter
with someone humble, with someone who truly sees me, feels me
and lights me up inside.

Please give “claps” to the poems and writing you enjoy! It helps rank this post higher so other readers can find it.

A link to a poetry reading, with this poem recorded live at Akbar in Silverlake (Los Angeles, CA) gives you a more emotional read on the character Sophie — if she had a chance to really confess her feelings. Queer Slam, Episode 19 (starting around 8:40).

As a poet and performance artist, I have a confession booth I have set up a various special events, where people get to spill their guts and I help transform their feelings and ideas into a short poem. As we want to celebrate diversity, and as an Asian-American queer feminist lesbian woman of color who wants more from our media characters, I’m imagining what some TV and film characters would say if they got to confess how they really feel.

Here’s another confession poem from Sophie “About Dani” and another L-word poem from Finley.

And if you want something from “Crazy Rich Asians,” here is one from Rachel.

--

--

Jen Cheng

Writer. Songwriter. Improv Comedy. Strategist. I write for kids, dogs, and adults. I write for parties. Writer for hire. www.JenCVoice.com IG:@jen.and.potato