My Grandfather’s Letters — March 28, 1939 Washington DC 39 of 46

Kristen Lodge
2 min readApr 30, 2024

--

Letter Postmarked: Mar 28, 1939
Reconstruction Finance Corporation
Washington DC
To: Mrs Betty Fritzson 6034 Walton St. Philadelphia, Penna

Tuesday

Dearest Wifey:

Mr. Sullivan told me that he is having a stag party Saturday night for all the men in the office. I told him I had planned to get home this weekend. Mr. Sullivan then told me to make some other arranges as he wants me to be at his party. I would like very much to see you yet I feel more or less obligated to go to Mr. Sullivan’s party. It’s just one of those things that seem to be a part of the job. Maybe I will be able to get Saturday off & get home Friday night. Then would be no use for you to come down as it is a stag party. I forgot to mention it but it’s a dance party & if I don’t go I will be the only fellow in the office absent.

I will write to you as soon as I can get some definite information. I would like to ask for more than Saturday but for a change I have been working & working nights hard on a rush job for Mr. Barriger.

Don’t get mad until I get definite word one way or the other.

All my love,

Fritz

Letter 40
Letter 38

--

--

Kristen Lodge

I am a writer, mountain dweller, traveler, runner, cyclist and dog lover.