10 Reasons Why I prefer to work remotely

Lady Chocolate
3 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Everyone remembers the pandemic time. I was working for an IT company at that period. We had to leave the office and work from home. I liked that idea very much. Because I had such experience before. In that company, it was possible to work from home, when you felt sick.

Moreover, I’m an introvert, and communication with my colleagues sometimes left me without strength. Besides, I was working in the open space, which I hate. There are a lot of people around, you don’t have personal space. I have a very sensitive nose, it was bad when around are smelly people, that don’t feel it. So I want to share with you why I consider remote work much better, than office work.

Photo by Antoni Shkraba
  1. I didn’t need to spend 2 or more hours going to the office, waiting for the transport, especially when it’s bad weather. I didn’t need to spend money on transport. I didn’t need to stay in a traffic jam. These extra two hours give me two extra hours for my hobby, or to make extra money.
  2. I didn’t need to stay in the office with some of my annoying colleagues: who spoke loudly, smelled bad, or constantly disturbed me with questions every few minutes, so I could finish doing the task faster. The faster I did it, the faster I could finish the working day.
  3. Sometimes I didn’t have any tasks and at the office didn’t know what to do. With the same situation at home, I was reading. Instead of spending time for nothing, I was doing something useful.
  4. I didn’t need to bring lunch with me. And I don’t need to spend money on a café or a vending machine. At home, I can calmly prepare tasty and healthy food. When I’m doing it in the evening time, instead of cooking lunch, I receive extra time to relax.
  5. At home I have a pet, my cat, sometimes he comes and works with me. It works like an anti-stress.
  6. I didn’t need to see my boss. We were in the bad relations. It was very arrogant and not smart.
  7. If I overslept, I didn’t need to be in a hurry. Everything that I needed to do — was to start my laptop.
  8. I feel cozy working from home, which I never felt in the office.
  9. I didn’t need to fight for warmth. My colleagues liked to put extremely low temperatures, I had to take extra clothes every day, like I’m going hiking.
  10. From home, I didn’t need to listen to the music of my colleagues, some of them had extremely primitive tastes.
Photo by Anna Shvets

And what do you think? Is it better to work from home or at the office?

You also might like my other articles:

If you liked my article, please clap it 👏🏼, it costs nothing, but it will help to grow my blog. ❤️

--

--