Know Your Orchestrator #1 | Pon

Introducing the technical and professional profiles of each Orchestrator in the Livepeer project

Live Pioneers
Coinmonks
Published in
5 min readApr 15, 2024

--

To know more about Pon Orchestrator, you can visit his website here,

This article is available also in these other languages:

Welcome to this premiere Know Your Orchestrator (KYO) segment. This initiative is being led by the team here at Live Pioneers, with the main objective of introducing the technical and professional profiles of each Orchestrator in the Livepeer project, as well as highlighting any goals they may have. We hope this will help foster ties between Delegators and their favorite Orchestrators.

If you still do not know what Livepeer is, you can read our article here:

🎤 Pon Interview

1/ Live Pioneers: How did you get involved in running a Livepeer Orchestrator? Do you have a team assisting you, or are you a solo operator?

Pon: I was looking for an alternative for mining and something a bit more hands on when plug, play, and more or less forget about it. I have started by myself but had a lot of guidance from other operators. I run my own orchestrator, I’m part of the Video Miner pool.

Video Miner is a pool built on the Livepeer network that allows anyone to earn passive income by processing video with an Nvidia GPU. With Video Miner, you can easily participate in the Livepeer network without setting up an Orchestrator node, which requires a large sum of $LPT.

2/ Live Pioneers: What’s your technical background? And how do you use your technical skills in your Orchestrator role?

Pon: My technical background is mechanical and gas engineer but from a young age I was tinkering with computers. I still remember my first computer Olivetti 386 that I took apart and couldn’t put it back together!!!

Curious about Pon’s first computer? You can read more here.

3/ Live Pioneers: What features of Livepeer can you highlight that make a difference in the web3 ecosystem?

Pon: Decentralised and community driven project! I do believe what makes Livepeer different is the community around it!

4/ Live Pioneers: How would you describe Livepeer in simple terms?

Pon: Livepeer is a protocol that transcodes video for your own use.

5/ Live Pioneers: How did you first find out about blockchain technology, and what prompted you to get involved in crypto?

Pon: My first involvement with crypto was via mining. I loved the idea that you can pay for goods or services not using a bank account!

6/ Live Pioneers: How did you find out about Livepeer?

Pon: After loads of research and googling I’ve managed to stumble across the Livepeer network. That was more than 2 years ago and I’m still here.

Pon has customized its server to be Liveeper branded: isn’t cool?

7/ Live Pioneers: What was your first experience with Livepeer like, and what convinced you to take on the Orchestrator role?

Pon: My first experience was a bit traumatic and steep learning curve. I was mostly a Windows user and started using Ubuntu and getting used to controlling everything via terminal. I had a lot of sleepless nights till I managed to understand what I’m doing and why! As I’ve mentioned before I would not be able to grow as much as I did without the community’s help.

8/ Live Pioneers: Can you briefly summarize what your daily work as an Orchestrator looks like? What types of maintenance, monitoring, and time commitments are required in running a node after the initial setup? Is it a full-time or a part-time job?

Pon: It can be a part time job, but you always need to keep an eye on it and make sure you are up to date with changes coming. At the moment I am upgrading my hardware and getting involved in AI subnet testing, so it is consuming more time but it is rewarding and I love to try to improve things. As a daily job, if there are no changes or upgrades, it is just making sure that node performance is best it can be, checking the logs if there are any issues.

9/ Live Pioneers: What changes are you eager to see come to the Livepeer ecosystem? And how could this benefit you as an Orchestrator?

Pon: There are a couple big changes coming into Livepeer at the moment. New client with big demand, need to make sure we all are ready for it and AI subnet (read more about generative AI, here).

Generative AI is coming to Livepeer, thanks to the AI subnet, that will focus on AI tasks.

10/ Live Pioneers: How would you describe your long-term vision for Livepeer, as well as the web3 ecosystem?

Pon: I do believe Livepeer network will grow big enough to start putting competition and pressure on big transcoding providers! If that happens I will still be here and I’ll be part of it!

11/ Live Pioneers: Now to finish, a random question that may be useful or interesting for the community … Quote just one unique music album to bring with you on a lonely island?

Pon: I do not think it would be an album, rather mixed songs to suit every day!

☎️ How to contact Pon?

Here you can find how to contact Pon:

Don’t forget to post your question in the comment section so our friendly Orchestrator will be able to answer you. And please, remember to share this segment with your friends!

If you are an Orchestrator and are interested in participating in these segments, please DM us on X, or you can also email us here. Thank you!

Do you have any questions?

Live Pioneers is the first unofficial community for long term LPT holders and supporters of the Livepeer protocol ▶️

If you have any questions, or concerns, or want to submit feedback, you can reach out to us using our social channels:

Live Pioneers is the first unofficial community supporting the Livepeer protocol.

--

--

Live Pioneers
Coinmonks

Live Pioneers: we are the first unofficial community for long term LPT holders and supporters of the Livepeer protocol ▶️