Out of Ideas, Out of Time: Chapter 8

A Collaborative Story

Lon Shapiro
Out of Ideas, Out of Time
4 min readNov 10, 2019

--

Photo by Eric Murray on Unsplash

Chapter One

Chapter Two

Chapter Three

Chapter Four

Chapter Five

Chapter Six

Chapter Seven

CHAPTER 8

“On your left?” asked the young cat behind the cash register.

I gave him the stink eye because it was clear I was leaning heavily on my right leg, while using the cane to support my gimpy left ankle.

“Why would I put my weight on my left foot? If you’re into causing people pain, your talents would be better suited in the Big Apple. Just turn right on I-40 and stay on the main highway for another 31 hours.”

“You want to use the bathroom, don’t you,” he said. “It’s on your left?”

“You some kind of a wrong number? I can’t tell if you’re asking a question or making a statement, savvy?”

“Yeah, I get that? Originally, I’m from the Valley? Have you ever been to Los Angeles.”

“I got no time for this, kid, I’m on a case.”

I blew through the dump, picking up supplies, limped back to the cashier and handed him a fin for the grub.

--

--

Lon Shapiro
Out of Ideas, Out of Time

High quality creative & design https://guttmanshapiro.com. Former pro athlete & high quality performance coach. Teach the world one high quality joke at a time