M2M Day 115: I haven’t slept well in weeks

Max Deutsch
2 min readFeb 24, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Over the past two weeks, I’ve been having a bit of a problem: Every time I get home from a backflip lesson, I have so much adrenaline pumping through my body that I’m unable to sleep soundly through the night.

This is particularly tough for me because I’ve always been highly sensitive to sleep deprivation (for me deprivation is <7–8 well-slept hours). One bad night of sleep can throw me off for a week.

I usually prevent sleep problems by exercising regularly, but recently I’ve been timid to do so (since I want to ensure that I’m completely fresh for my backflipping sessions).

As a result, the past couple weeks have been confusing for my body, and I haven’t had a good night sleep in a while.

Hopefully, tomorrow, I land an unassisted backflip, and can return to a more consistent routine of sleep and exercise. My body definitely wants me to.

Here’s my dilemma though: I want to maintain my backflip after the month ends, which means I probably need to keep practicing until my backflip is a fearless reflex. But, at the same time, I want to sleep. So, I’m not sure what I should do.

The funny thing about this is… During my sessions, my coach, Elijah, keeps asking me “Have you had a backflip dream yet?”. Apparently, I’m officially a “tumbler” only once I have my first dream about it. But, since I can’t sleep, I can’t dream, and so I can’t make my tumbler-status official, which means I need to keep practicing, which means I can’t sleep, and so on.

It’s all been worth it, but still… at what point do I escape this cycle and reach tumbler nirvana?

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--