M2M Day 23: Silence

Max Deutsch
1 min readNov 23, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For November, my goal is to memorize the order of a shuffled deck of cards in less than 2 minutes.

I was a bit worried about traveling to New York, interrupting my normal practice routine and changing my environment.

But, as it turns out, this environment is much better suited to memorizing cards anyway.

No more white noise

Without the constant background noise of traffic and sirens (which is unavoidable in San Francisco), I can sit in the basement of my parent’s house, in complete silence, without white noise in my ears, and memorize cards very comfortable.

In yesterday’s video memorization, you’ll notice that I’m not using my normal Bose headphones. It’s just me and a deck of cards.

I thought I was used to the ambient groan of white noise and rain sounds while memorizing, but, at some level, it was definitely distracting.

When I get back to San Francisco, I’m going to buy some earplugs and maybe a pair of construction earmuffs.

Any day now…

With my brain happily memorizing without any distractions, I should complete this challenge any day now. My confidence level is at 99%.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--