M2M Day 54: Challenge complete!

Max Deutsch
1 min readDec 24, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For December, my goal is to draw a realistic self-portrait with only pencil and paper.

24 days ago, to kick off December’s challenge, I tried to draw a self-portrait.

Then, over the next 3.5 weeks, I completed a 10-hour drawing course, drew a few other people, and then spent 8 hours on a new self-portrait.

Here are the before and after.

And here’s a time-lapse of the 8 hours of drawing.

I’m happy with the result, and actually think the self-portrait looks a lot like me.

Tomorrow, I’ll write up a more thorough critique. But until then, I’m declaring this month’s challenge a success.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--