Old Books: A Poem

Meenakshi b
1 min readDec 31, 2023

--

Image by Ylanite Koppens from Pixabay

I found myself in a lucky place

with a second chance. I’d been given grace.

I vowed to notice things much more,

understand the world, enquire, explore.

I threw myself into learning facts

the news, some views, on this and that.

ploughed on and on, new stuff I learned

but I felt incomplete every page I turned.

And then one day, on a cleaning binge

old books I found.

I felt a twinge.

I hadn’t read, for a time untold

those soothing works of masters old.

As I re-read those moving words,

about the trees, the sea, the birds,

about the men and women too

who faced tough times but soldiered through.

Something about them makes them last

these books that speak of distant pasts

I’ve realized they’d teach me more

about the world

these books of yore.

You may also like

1. Of Gloves and Love

2. Two Poems on Grief

3. A Man of No Importance

4. The Pause

--

--