Lego Build 103 — Sabutai Fighter

Francisco Duarte
3 min readJul 25, 2023

--

While my RL issues are still very much a thing, delaying so many of my projects and life goals for this year, I would prefer to keep the show going and have some fun for a bit. This model is yet another one that I bring forward due to its connection to my Blake’s War AU. The support fighter option for the Clan (Nova Cat) faction — the Sabutai!

Entering service with Clan Smoke Jaguar just at the onset of Operation Revival, the Invasion of the Inner Sphere, the Sabutai was developed to overwhelm opposing fighters with massive firepower. Evidently that due to this priority, the machine turned out to be lacking in other areas, especially armor and heat dissipation. But it would reveal itself capable enough to become favored throughout the Clans.

After the destruction of the Smoke Jaguars the use of the Sabutai would dwindle a bit, although surviving units would see use with other factions well into the Blakist Jihad. These other users would also introduce new configurations to adapt the powerful design to new roles.

In the Blake’s War AU, the configuration X, adapted to electronic warfare and long-range fire-support, would be highly favored by the Nova Cats as they sought ways to overcome the human wave tactics of the Blakists while preserving forces to also face Spheroid and other Clanner opponents during those chaotic times. The onboard ECM suite helped in hiding friendly units from enemy sensors, while also being used to shut down select enemy units in a pinch. Nevertheless, the Nova Cats never had many Sabutais, so they had to use these abilities only when necessary.

The model uses 53 parts plus the base. I would classify it as a medium difficulty build and if you have doubts about how to put it together you can ask and I’ll help as I can.

I really like to make fighter models. The ‘Mechs may have more glamour, but fighters and vehciles are just fun to make.

If you enjoy my work you can give me a tip at my Ko-fi account. The more support I have the more work I can do and at the moment I’m trying to gain momentum to complete a MechWarrior 4-inspired RPG module.

You can also check my original game projects and all my other work. Have fun and stay safe!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine