Lego Build 96 — Wraith

Francisco Duarte
3 min readApr 25, 2023

--

We are slowly but steadily getting closer to the 100th of these builds. It’s kind of crazy how long have I been going on with these and how much I have done in the meanwhile. I would love to do something special for that day, but time will tell what may happen yet. For now, though, I’ll share another model with a bit of story for my Blake’s War AU.

The first BattleMech developed by Curtiss MiliTech, the Wraith turned out to be an extraordinary blend of firepower and mobility. Although the House armies were skeptic, the mercenary market was quick to adopt this new design.

In Blake’s War the model would be associated with the mercenary commander John Cassini, sent from Ark Royal to serve as a liaision between the Mercenary Alliance and Clan Nova Cat. It was the mercenaries who came out with the idea of making an alliance with the Ghost Bears, difficult as it could be, and their agents the ones who laid the groundwork for future operations against the Blakists and the Black Dragon Society. Their actions were decisive during the first months of the war.

Took me a while to work on the look for the Wraith. I’ll be honest and admit that maybe it could be done better, but after some time I ran out of ideas on how to make the design closer to the roundness of the original art while keeping in with the simplicity of my style. Wherever I was successful or not, I’ll leave it for you to decide. I do still like the flair of it, all things considered.

Still, this model takes 53 parts and the hectic paint scheme was meant to emulate the Dark Templars’ colors in Starcraft, although I found that there aren’t many parts available in the colors I needed. This was the best approximation I managed with the colors I had available in Stud.io. I mean, one could still use any color for the parts in that software, but I’ve been trying to use parts that actually exist.

I’ll work on something special for the 100th build. If you like my work you can pay me a coffee at my Ko-fi account. It helps me investing in all the gaming-themed projects and games proper that I enjoy creating. I also have an active goal for that account - if I receive enough support I will be able to justify the effort to create a fan campaign module for MechWarrior Destiny based on the iconic videogame MechWarrior 4 Vengeance, with a few new game mechanics of my own to boot.

So, give it a look and help me out if you so wish. Thank you!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine