Lego Build 108 — Cicada

Francisco Duarte
2 min readSep 8, 2023

--

While still working on the post for the first sets of Homeworld fleets, I’ve decided to post another BattleMech. Lately, I have exchanged a few words with some content creators that revitalized my creative side in a way. Made quite a few sets in just a few days, although they will take some time until they’re ready to share. Today’s machine, though, is one that I have been working on for a while but only now managed to complete in a way that made me happy.

The Cicada was an attempt to replace older scout Mechs with a heavier, more reliable and well-protected frame. This was aimed mostly at the venerable Locusts. However, the new machine was also more expensive than its predecessors without showing any improvement in maneuverability or firepower. As a result, the Cicada would never truly replace the older scouts. However it found a place as a command scout as well as a platform for weapons testing.

Present in most House armies, especially among the Free Worlds League and the Capellan Confederation, the Cicada would be present in most conflicts during the Succession Wars era.

This is relatively simple model to put together, using 45 parts. And on that note you should check some of creators I have been talking to lately, especially if you like BattleTech. You probably know some of them, but if you don’t, go check Mechanical Frog and Big Red-40TECH on Youtube, as well as an old friend of this blog, CJF Dolgfer. Their content is great and they have helped me get back on my creative streak, which is something I have to thank them for. Thank you for your work and passion!

If you enjoy my work pay me a visit on my Ko-fi account to play me a coffee. You can also check original work from me there, as well as other gaming projects. You can also acquire other RPG materials written by yours truly across the Internet.

Now go play games and enjoy your lives!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine