Tiny Warship 19 — Narukami Destroyer

Francisco Duarte
3 min readJan 22, 2024

--

I realized I haven’t posted in a while and although I do have some more Mechs and vehicles to post and potentianlly a surprise at the end of the next batch today I wanted to post a warship. If you enjoy what I do please consider leaving me a tip at my Ko-fi page. You can also peruse the RPG material and original games I’ve written in the past.

With that said, let’s talk about what should be the last warship for the Draconis Combine Succession Wars fleet, save for some last moment addition for later. Ironically, the Narukami was actually the first warship ever developed by that state.

Although not necessarily on par with the warships made by the Terran Hegemony, the Narukami was neverthless a powerful warship, well armed and armored. In some cases it could outperfrom opposing vessels in one or another category. This came at the cost of endurance and Narukamis would always have to work near their ports, a small price to pay for its other qualities.

During the Star League Civil War the Combine would produce and new block of the design and even refit mothballed vessels, as the incomign inferno was all but obvious. These vessels would work well with the Samarkands and Barons also used by this faction. Despite this, the majority of the war vessels of the Combine fleet would actually be dropships of some kind, much smaller than true warships and unable to jump between systems, something that placed them in a disadvantage in a true fight.

This is another simple model, although some parts may be hard to come by. Only 22 parts are used, plus the base. It complements the prior models offering us a full Combine fleet.

On another note, I’ve been asking myself if you would be interested in fleet compositions for simple wargames to use these ships in. I’ve been thinking about using them for Grimdark Future: Warfleets from One Page Rules, but the new ruleset offers really crazy rules for the different factions and I think Battletech warships wouldn’t fit in. On another note, Orion’s Gate, the original version of that game, can still be legally found and it seemingly fits better the ship architecture and mood of Battletech. Maybe I should make fleets for that ruleset, even though it has less options in the end.

What do you think? Do you have any advice or system you would like me to invest in for something like this? Let me know.

In the meanwhile, go out there play games and enjoy your lives!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine