Tiny Warship 20 — Aegis Heavy Cruiser

Francisco Duarte
3 min readJul 22, 2024

--

This is yet another model that I’m converting to the new scale from the prior one. Under the rules established when I started doing these, the Aegis is the medium ship choice for the Succession Wars-era Free Worlds League fleet.

If you like stuff like this consider paying me a coffee, or check the ship compilations I’ve done for my Homeworld series. You can also check the RPG modules I’ve written in the past to spice up your game sessions

The Aegis was one of the original heavy cruisers of the Terran Hegemony. Built in large numbers, these vessels eventually became outdated and set to be mothballed.

After the Reunification War, it was decided to sell these surplus units to the Great Houses. Although every House received some numbers of the type, House Marik of the Free Worlds League became an especially enthusiastic user. When the Sucession Wars started these ships would still be a core element of their fleets, even though they had become rarer in other factions.

This model took me forever to get right. The front had some iterations, but the back was especially tricky. I went back and fort, used many combinations of different parts, until I finally settled with what you see here. This is an issue I have with some of these.

Because the scale is so small I really need to condense the design language of these ships and it sometimes is really difficult to pull. If you think I’m taking a bit too much time posting new models or a request you made, its because it had some element that was harder to make.

In the end, the Aegis uses 37 parts, quite a lot for a medium ship in this series. I do think it turned out quite well, taking into account the effort and the choices if forced me to make. Let me know what you think.

Also, and finally, I’m sorry it took me this long to get back to the BattleTech Warship series. The Homeworld stuff has been taking a lot of my free time. Honestly, it has been really fun to make and I found out that usually I can complete a whole fleet in no time, so I rode that wave. That said, I still love these and I will keep making them. On that note, would you like me to make fleet complilations for the BattleTech ships like I did for Homeworld? Is that something you would also like to have? Do tell what you think.

Now go out there play games and enjoy your lives!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine