Warship Build 7 — Avalon Cruiser

Francisco Duarte
2 min readJan 12, 2022

--

Given the soft recontextualization of the BattleTech fleets that I’ve made last week, today I will present you the capital ship for the Federated Suns, to be complemented with the prior Fox Corvette. I have ideas for fighters and scouts, but those will come later. Today, we’ll see the Avalon Cruiser.

Like the Fox before it, the Avalon ushered in a series of advancements in warship design and technology. Its unique catamaran-like shape offered superior armor on the broadsides, along with solid mountings for the defensive weapons. Also like the Fox, the main weapons are multi-missile launchers, in this case mounted under the main hull.

This is the big ship in my Federated Suns fleet, supported by the Fox corvettes and a few fighter wings and scouting small craft. The centerpiece, essentially.

I’ve been wanting to show this one off for a while. Not only because the Federated Suns are my favorite Inner Sphere faction, but also because I think it looks rather unique. many of the other ships seem obviously naval vessel or airplane themed, while this one is somewhat unique. It was a nice challenge.

Like other warships, the core is a solid keel, with the details being attached to it. The twin booms that form the sides of the hull took a while to figure out, but I decided that simpler is usually better, so they ended up taking fewer parts than I originally expected. The end result is a shape that is easily recognizable but also solid, which can be handled easily. Takes around 60 parts plus the base.

As always, let me know your thoughts.

See you soon!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine