Expand Your Worldview

Mary Ihla
4 min readDec 7, 2015

“One of the biggest problems with the world today is that we have large groups of people who will accept whatever they hear on the grapevine, just because it suits their worldview, not because it is actually true or because they have evidence to support it.” ~ Neil deGrasse Tyson

Our worldview is our theory of the world, a framework of beliefs, values, and attitudes which affects everything we perceive, think, feel, and do. We begin developing our worldview as children, but we’re restricted by the boundaries of what we can see, experience, and learn from.

I grew up in a small town in northern Minnesota surrounded by people just like me. They were primarily of northern European heritage, and some of my friends had grandparents who spoke another language. But, their accents were Scandinavian or German, so no one ever told them, “You’re in America. Speak English!” Most identified themselves as Christians, although there was one Jewish family in the area. The only people of color were the Chippewa (Ojibwa or Anishinaabe) living on the edge of the White Earth reservation. My worldview as a child was quite limited.

The books I read took me to imaginary lands full of mythical creatures, but the protagonists were predominantly white and had experiences not that different from my own. The families I saw on television consisted of a father who was the bread winner and a mother who took care of the home and the kids. They were caucasian and attended church on Sundays. It was all just more of the same.

It wasn’t much different when I went off to college. There were a few international students and minorities, but most of us congregated with “our own kind” instead of making an effort to learn more about languages, customs, and cultures dissimilar from our own. Eventually, however, I began meeting new people and exploring unfamiliar places, thus expanding my worldview.

Travel is a wonderful way to broaden your horizons, especially international travel. Don’t forget to talk with the people you encounter. Many of them will speak English and love talking to Americans. If you take a cruise, talk to the crew, especially the wait staff, many of whom come from Indonesia, the Philippines, or Eastern Europe. In my conversations with staff members on the cruises I’ve taken, I learned of the long hours they work, 12–15 hours a day, with little shore time. Some of them had not seen their loved ones for months or even spoken to them since shipboard phone calls were too expensive. Nearly all were sending the bulk of their salaries back to their families at home.

Almost 12 years ago I spent three months in Japan caring for my baby granddaughter whose parents were in the military. On the non-stop flight from Minneapolis to Tokyo, I met a young Japanese woman who spoke perfect English. We chatted off and on during the 13-hour flight, and I confided that I was worried about being able to purchase a ticket for the local train from the airport, which was actually in Narita, an hour from Tokyo. When we landed, she helped me buy the ticket, and once we reached Tokyo, helped me find the right place to catch the Shinkansen Bullet Train to Misawa where my daughter would meet me. I not only passed the time with interesting conversation, but was saved from a stressful experience.

I met many Japanese people during my time in their country, and was amused that every single one asked me how old I was. In Japan, where elders are revered, it was not impolite to ask a woman her age. We attended a local celebration and sampled the cuisine at the outdoor booths, although I had to pass on most of it because of my allergy to fish and seafood. However, I enjoyed yakitori and a pancake-like dish with cabbage in it. At a party my daughter and her husband hosted, a Korean girl roasted a dried flat fish over the burner on the gas stove, and her two friends snacked on tiny fish from zip-lock bags.

You can also expand your worldview through study abroad. It’s an opportunity to learn a foreign language, make friends from all over the world, and immerse yourself in another culture. Senior citizens can combine a vacation with volunteer services while working side-by-side with locals on community initiatives in countries such as Costa Rica, India, Morocco, and Thailand.

If you don’t have the money or can’t spare the time to travel, you can expand your worldview by exploring different cultures closer to home. Check to see if there are any international festivals in your area. I used to take my daughters every spring to the Festival of Nations in St. Paul, MN. We would sample ethnic food from all over the world, shop in the international bazaar, view demonstrations of native crafts, and take in performances of musical and folk dance groups.

Here are a few additional methods of expanding your worldview:

  • Read about other countries and cultures.
  • Talk with people whose first language is different from yours.
  • Attend a religious service for a faith other than the one you practice.
  • Eat at an authentic ethnic restaurant and try several unfamiliar dishes.
  • Open your mind to ideas you may not have considered before.

Expanding your worldview helps you develop as a human being. You will grow to better understand people and learn to comprehend the reasoning behind their actions and behavior. Never stop discovering the world.

NOTE: This is the year I celebrate (?) seven decades residing on this planet. My journey so far has taught me many life lessons, so I decided to share some of them with you. I’ll be posting one each day from Thanksgiving to Christmas.

Yesterday: Be Accountable

Tomorrow: Express Yourself

--

--

Mary Ihla

I’m a groovy granny enjoying retirement, pursuing self improvement, writing about my life, fostering creativity, and showing others how to do the same.