From being treated like an outsider to feeling like I belong

Nichole Freije
4 min readOct 11, 2017

--

When I got a LinkedIn message that Matilda Jane Clothing wanted to feature my blog post, I thought, “finally, I’ve found a company that understands and listens to women — all women.”

Eloquii in 2013 to Matilda Jane in 2017, lost weight, gained a sense of belonging

The next week, my personal story appeared in the company’s email newsletter.

http://tinyurl.com/nicholemjcemail

I saw myself in my own inbox! More importantly, my message reached thousands of women (and probably some men) across the country who may rethink how they spend their money and how their choices can make a difference.

2014 when I couldn’t button my work pants and suit jacket

When I was plus size 2X, I struggled to find fashion to wear to work, workout, date, or really wear anywhere. Sizes larger than a 12 were not available in stores, and back in 2010–2015, online shopping wasn’t as easy as it is now.

Nordstrom and Eloquii, inside The Limited, carried plus sizes that had shape and color and curves, but the inventory was scarce.

I felt like an outsider. Because I was literally shopping outside the traditional clothing areas for women. Special sizes don’t feel special when they are only available online or in an entirely different section of the store.

The story Matilda Jane Clothing featured is about how I nearly cried when I realized the clothing brand I thought was for little girls, is truly a brand for all women and girls, designing fashionable, comfortable styles for women sizes XS to XXL. The company proves this because Matilda Jane trunk keepers, or reps, like my friend Ellie, carry sample inventory in sizes XS to XXL.

Matilda Jane leggings, top and jacket and super cute pink #KSwiss #GenerationK kicks

Equally as important as designing the clothes and having inventory in all sizes is showing models of all sizes, and Matilda Jane does this exceptionally well.

Three women. Three sizes. One dress.

The feeling of belonging at Matilda Jane is so overwhelming, it makes me cry because I remember a time when I felt so alone.

We don’t have to feel that way anymore. To see women from XS to XXL wearing the same clothes sends the message that all women from size XS to XXL are valued and appreciated.

Models in all sizes wearing the same design.

If you have ever needed sizes larger than L, I hope you feel like you belong with me, Matilda Jane and the community of like-minded women we build when we shop together and support each other.

If you wear sizes smaller than L, I hope my story gives you perspective of how important it is to shop companies that believe like you believe.

Our dollar is our voice, and we can speak loudly with a swipe of a card and click of a mouse.

I will spend my money with Matilda Jane, and my trunk keeper rep Ellie Templeton, because Matilda Jane understands that women want to feel good in their clothes and good about themselves.

If you’re with me, let’s make others feel welcome. Share my story. Tell your story. And shop with companies who believe like we believe.

Thanks for reading my story. It means a lot that you spent your time with me. I’d love to get to know you, too. Say hi to me on Facebook Instagram Twitter or nichole@freijebrands.com.

--

--

Nichole Freije

From losing weight to becoming self-employed, this is my story. Sometimes embarrassing, sometimes funny, always the truth. Thanks for listening to me.