Digital Weddings | Introduction

Jenn de la Vega
Digital Weddings
Published in
2 min readJan 13, 2020

--

Photo by Caitlin Cooper

Welcome to Digital Weddings, a guide to figuring out catering for your event by me, Jenn de la Vega. I say “event” because weddings are so different in 2020. It’s not a package you can pick out anymore. Many couples have already been married at the courthouse and want to have a separate party on another date, some don’t even want a sit-down dinner. Sometime’s it’s a camping trip!

Making custom menus isn’t easy, so I treat it like a design brief or creative prompt. I need inspiration and stories to come up with ideas and the dishes that will make everything feel extra special.

And hey, if my catering isn’t your style, this working guide will help you hone your ideas so you can tell another caterer what you want and what’s possible in the venue you chose.

I’ll be updating this guide with essays and how-tos for each of the next steps.

By the way, congrats!

NEXT STEPS

  1. Start gathering ideas.
  2. Determine your budget.
  3. Sketch out a schedule.
  4. Figure out your paperwork.
  5. Venue details.
  6. Get in touch with your caterer!

It doesn’t have to be me, but golly would I like that.

--

--

Jenn de la Vega
Digital Weddings

Author of Showdown: Comfort Food, Chili & BBQ. Caterer behind @Randwiches. Resident Kickstarter & TASTE Cooking. Veteran community manager.