Do you in the middle of insecure? Because I do.

Yuanda
3 min readSep 18, 2023

--

picture: https://osc.medcom.id/community/insecure-katanya-4621

Hello, this is me Yuanda. Today I just want to share how my thought and how I felt lately. Please do share your story if you have ever feel the same situation with me.

This is the second year since my last job in August 2021. Yes, I got layoff from my last job because of company’s situation (corona things). It’s been very stressful, very hard times for me.

August 2021 was the beginning of my life as a job seeker. Yes, I’m unemployed. I was looking for work that suits my previous job, namely handling merchants or learning development. I didn’t expect a high salary, I just wanted to get a job. Moreover, at that time I had just gotten married. I got married in August 2021, the same month when I was begin to be an unemployed. My partner at the time worked from home. Seeing him busy with work makes me feel sad because I didn’t have anything to do. I just not getting used to lay down all the time, not working and not doing anything that makes money was painful for me.

I keep myself busy by cooking various types of dishes. I baked cookies, I baked cakes, I cooked Indonesian food. I’d do everything. I even tried selling those cookies and cakes. However,my passion is not in F&B business. At the moment, I really lost myself.

It was May 2022 I guess and nearly a year passed like the wind and I still felt useless because I didn’t have a job. I’m lucky to have a family who supports me in trying different things. Suddenly, it came to my mind about design, especially UI Design. I decided to explore UI/UX Design by joining a bootcamp. UI/UX Design is very interesting to me. To find problems from people and then create solutions to the problems. Studying UI/UX Design keeps me distracted from bad thoughts. Learning new things and interacting with other people makes me feel refreshed. And I do have something: studying. (See this to see my journey at UI/UX Design)

However, several months passed after I attended the UI/UX Design bootcamp, I still had not succeeded to be a UI/UX Designer. I then tried to follow in my husband’s career, to become a front end developer. In November 2022, I started learning from CodeAcademy and YouTube. I learned HTML, CSS, and also Javascript. For more details, please read about my story where I started to think becoming a developer.

Currently, there are actually quite a lot of things that I am good at, from the Backend side I am good at NodeJS, Express. From the Frontend side I can use ReactJS, NextJS, VueJS. And various kinds of skills such as HTML, CSS, Javascript, MySQL, Figma, etc.

I’ve been studying web development for almost a year. It’s very fun and yes I could say it’s a difficult thing for me wkwkwk. What makes it difficult is that there are various languages, frameworks, and libraries, and I have the feeling that I have to master them all, although it’s reallyyyyy hard. And yes, that was also an obstacle for me when I was applying for jobs because one of the job vacancies used different technology that I didn’t use it. Currently the language I master is Javascript, but other companies ask me to master PHP. :(

Now it’s been almost 1 month since I graduated from bootcamp and haven’t gotten my first job. My self-confidence dropped again, but there was nothing I could do. My prayer is that I will quickly get a job as a Front-End Developer or Fullstack Developer. Aamiin~

That’s all my story what I’ve been through this past 2 years. Thanks for reading, everyone!

--

--

Yuanda

Junior Fullstack Engineer | Interest in Web Development and UI/UX Research and Design | see my website https://yuandaputri.com/