Drawing Judy Hopps from Zootopia with Bohemia Sketch (from scratch)

V
2 min readMar 31, 2016

--

Yesterday I decided to draw something for my daughter. She loves the Zootopia movie (so do I), and we just finished reading the Zootopia Big Golden Book before bath. Judy and Nick seem like a good challenge :)

Step 1: find a vector art simple enough for me to copy. I ignored the tutorial since I wanted to see how long it will take me to finish at least one character. Here is the original art I found.

Photo credit: www.uisdc.com

Step2: 5 minutes or so, sketch it out using real paper and pen (..and I recycled a used paper).

A rabbit who may not look like Judy or even a rabbit…

Step 3: Now it’s the easy part, take out my phone, open the Adobe Capture App, go to Shapes, and vectorize it (1 min)! I recorded a video of this process, find it below.

And my toddler insisted using “Flash” the sloth as my Wallpaper.

Step 4: Open Adobe Illustrator on my computer, go to Library-Shape-drag my drawing onto canvas. Copy it-open Sketch-paste it. Here is how it looks in vector format (1 min). Note: you may have to have AI CC to use the Streamed Library.

Cross-eyed rabbit! I totally nailed it!

Step 5: Vector tracing and drawing in Sketch to make Judy look like Judy (hopefully)!… magic spells …voila (~2 hours)! Not all the details were added, but I already love what I’ve got so far.

My finished look of Judy Hopps!

Step 6: Export images, compose this story on Medium (~30 mins.).

Hope you like it! And I will finish drawing Nick tomorrow (View it now).

Also see my Flash the sloth drawing here.

--

--

V

V for a very big heart in a very big world. I’ve taught myself lots of things, but my parents taught me how to learn at first.