A Letter From A Work of Fiction #6

Jonathan Greene
A Work of Fiction
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readSep 6, 2020
Photo by Stanislav Kondratiev on Unsplash

Welcome to the monthly-ish letter from A Work of Fiction. These letters will go out on Saturday or Sunday afternoons when we have enough published stories to warrant a letter. To be honest, it’s been like standing in molasses in a game of Candy Land at this publication, but we are undeterred. We want a home just for fiction and are content to watch it evolve.

We will be direct recruiting fiction writers in the next month to add to our small stable of great writers. A Work of Fiction is a fiction publication brought to you by Assemblage. These newsletters always have friend links so everyone can read them whether they have a paid Medium account or not.

Stories Since Our Last Letter

To Return And Return by Delta B. McKenzie

“Evil dwelled in the hearts of man and on the night of her seventh birthday, she’d watched that evil take physical form.

She’d covered her sisters’ eyes and locked her screams of grief behind clenched teeth as she watched her family burn.

She’d watched the invaders ransack their homes and desecrate their dead.

She’d watched, pinned down like a butterfly by her own fears but she was no longer afraid, not now.”

A Gift to Die For by Cassius Corbin

“Let me know what you want for your birthday this year. You liked my gifts of the devil and Manda. Last year, it was Daddy. I don’t have many more gifts offer.

Maybe this year, Jesus, this year finally, I can be your gift?”

Seven Minutes by Estrella Ramirez

“Leaning back in my chair, I felt a small pinch. I shift to see a small bee, fall to its death after piercing me.

I can’t help but laugh to myself; the irony is not lost on me. I’ve spent all my life planning my next step when I’ve never given much thought to how I would spend my final moments. The truth is, there is no way I’d rather spend them, even though I never imagined it would be like this.”

Pods by Jonathan Greene

“It was so quiet at the picnic table. For just a few seconds, I forgot what was happening in the world. The mandate. The pods. The death. The insanity of it all. It was just me, a light breeze, Utah food, and a patch of sunshine warming the back of my neck like the warm hand of a lost friend.”

The Quote

“Life is always going to be stranger than fiction, because fiction has to be convincing, and life doesn’t.” — Neil Gaiman

A Final Note

Fiction isn’t necessarily a needle in a haystack on Medium, it just needs a private residence. A place where curious minds wander. A place to leave reality and invest in a story. A place to just be. Welcome to A Work of Fiction. Consider it a home away from home.

--

--

Jonathan Greene
A Work of Fiction

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com