About Me — Allen “AJ” Hawthorne

I am a creature of habit with the unfortunate issue of having bad habits. This is who I see in the mirror.

Allen "AJ" Hawthorne
About Me Stories

--

Photo by Ashley Jurius on Unsplash

I cannot picture the single definitive moment that I slipped into my current mindset. There was no clear “how did I get here” soliloquy spoken into the abyss. There was no dramatic “Come to God/There is no God/What is God/Who needs God/Where is God/God I need help” moment in my life. Regardless of whatever God or Gods are in a persons life, or wallet, or in the bed next to them. I am just here now, and that is all I know. My mind and my thoughts have just changed now, and that is all I know. I am on the precipice of major moment, and I am ready..

Who Am I?

Call me AJ, or don’t call me at all. Better yet, still don’t call me, who calls people anymore? It can most likely be said in a text. I am 31 years old, and with any luck, will be 32 this summer. I am unhappily married, and I am on a desperate journey to find myself, my passions, and my meaning in this world. Some point early in my life I unconsciously adopted wandering as a way of life. My entire life I have wandered. I have wandered in the sense of both purpose and actually physically wandering. I often pace when on the phone, or when I am bored, or just to get the steps that people say a person needs to…

--

--

Allen "AJ" Hawthorne
About Me Stories

I am a creature of habit with the unfortunate issue of having bad habits. I write about relationships, self-discovery, corporate America, and my own life.