About Me — MadlyQuiet

Always winging it

CM
About Me Stories
4 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Hello there!

My actual name is MC [redacted for privacy], and I’m 25 years old. I’m a Filipino-Canadian; The first half of my life I lived in the Philippines and for the second half of my life I’ve been living in Canada. I have two pet snakes: one is a sand boa named Sandy and one is ball python named Bellatrix. My Myer-Briggs personality test says I’m an INFP. My limited social capacity says I’m a shy introvert.

Animated GIF on giphy.com. A question you are now asking. Okay, I’m gonna start for real.

Why my name is MadlyQuiet

Since I was a child, I have always been the quiet type of person who likes to observe on the sidelines. A wallflower, if you will.

Even growing up into adulthood, I was never the talkative type, except for the people I’m close with. I tend to express myself better with the written text as it gives me a chance to really think and reflect upon what I have to say. Since doing actual writing consists of this, I decided to name myself MadlyQuiet, and it’s reminiscent to the phrase “Madly in love”. Madly in love means to love someone to a extreme degree. I wanted to an adverb that will exhibit how much I like being quiet, and so MadlyQuiet is what it resulted to. Since it has the word mad in it, it also implies that I’m a bit mad. I may be so. Aren’t we all?

Experience and background

I was born in the Philippines, a country where it’s known to be so dang hot. Now I live in Canada, a country where it’s known to be so dang cold. You can imagine the adjustment periods I’ve had to get through to get used to this climate.

GIF By Libby VanderPloeg on giphy.com. An imitation of me in my first winter in Canada.

I spent my high school and university years here in Canada. To have culture shock was an understatement. I remember being in grade 9 and saw a hug happen between a girl and a boy who weren’t lovers. I was like, “boys and girls can hug here?”

It’s safe to say I’m not as awkward now as I was back then, but I still am a little bit. That’s just me.

After high school, I took on small jobs like working at a Lindt warehouse (it smelled as epic as it sounds) and serving coffee at a café. After graduating from Interior Design school, I now ultimately have my dream job working as a kitchen designer. To know what it’s like at my place of work, click here. If you like cute dogs, you won’t regret clicking on that.

As for experience with design, I guess it’s safe to say I’m good at lots of 3D modelling software, like Revit, AutoCad, SketchUp, and Rhinoceros. I’m also pretty sufficient with Adobe Suite.

As for experience with writing, I don’t have that much besides high school and university essays. Does having an embarrassing diary as a child count?

My personal life

No Way Snl GIF on giphy.com

Passions, hobbies and interests

As you can already tell, I’m into art and design. I’m also into learning about the latest technology. I’m into humor and comedy, especially when it comes to movies and tv shows. I try to make myself laugh half the time because why not?

On my free time, I watch movies and shows, make designs on Redbubble, nap, play board and card games, and most recently, write.

I also used to do Muay Thai, which I someday wish to get back into. I cannot express how much it made me feel powerful, even when in reality my punches weren’t really affecting my partner in the boxing gym one time. Still, it felt satisfying.

As for a passion: Not trying to bring the mood down, but I’ve been diagnosed with severe anxiety and depression for more than a year now, and I’m trying my best to live with it. It’s still a challenge, but I’m used to it!

Sad Ben Affleck GIF on giphy.com

I have gone through a bunch of events in my life that really challenged my mind and heart. This is the reason why I’m passionate about mental health; I want to be able to help someone as I know how it feels to feel alone.

Mtv Flowers GIF By INTO ACTION on giphy.com

Why I write

  • The struggle to understand myself

I started writing due to a great encounter with a therapist, who I had several sessions with to cope at a time when my mental illness was really bad. She taught me that it’s better to go through sadness rather than suppressing it. After going through various hobbies and ways to express myself, I finally found writing. It’s been extremely therapeutic so far, and I’m thankful for having Medium as, well, a medium for it. By writing, I’m able to understand myself more and more.

  • To learn

I am not exactly the brightest of people out there, and so I want to improve upon myself. I want to read about mental health, art, design, technology and humor on Medium. I also want to share what I learn with others; I believe writing about it will help me understand the topic even more, which is I’ve learned to be the Feynman Technique. Knowledge is power and I want to be powerful!

Want to send a message?

If you want to contact me, just comment on this post! I can also be contacted at margouxcastro@gmail.com

For a more genuine, less awkward, informal article about myself, check out my first article where I spilled my heart out back in November 2021 right here. It focuses more on my artsy side and finding myself.

If you’re not yet a Medium member, you can join up for just $5 a month by clicking my referral link. I will receive a portion of your first month’s fee at no extra cost to you. Plus, you get to read all the articles you want! Thank you so much and have a wonderful day.

The End Reaction GIF By MOODMAN on giphy.com

--

--