The Amazing Overwhelming Northern Lights… Not!

More fake news

Lewiscoaches
About Me Stories
Published in
8 min readMay 13, 2024

--

Northern lights — Photo by Johny Goerend on Unsplash

I was excited by the headline “Solar Storm Hits Earth, Sends Stunning Light Shows Across Northern Hemisphere”.

An unusually strong solar storm meant that aurora borealis, also known as the northern lights, could be seen across much of the United States.

I had been waiting to see the Northern Lights for most of my adult life. I always figured I’d have to pay for some expensive vacation to Alaska or Iceland.

But now they were finally coming to me.

Another headline read

“Strong solar storm hits Earth, could disrupt communications and produce northern lights in US”.

Oops. Better turn off my computer

“An unusually strong solar storm hitting Earth could produce northern lights in the U.S. this weekend and potentially disrupt power and communications. The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration issued a rare severe geomagnetic storm warning when a solar outburst reached Earth on Friday afternoon, hours sooner than anticipated.”

Looking to learn more about the event I began researching Google and other search engines for the Northern

--

--

Lewiscoaches
About Me Stories

Book author: Self-Improvement, design, life lesson, AI, travel, health, life, business, politics, love, lifestyle, mental health, entrepreneurism - askLewis.com