Catch us at Silicon Milkrounabout!

Rachel Grimston
Accurx
Published in
3 min readNov 16, 2022

After holding a stand at Silicon Milkrounabout in May, it was a no-brainer that our team would attend again as we had an absolute blast meeting candidates and chatting about life at Accurx.

Not only that but the event saw us meet tons of incredible engineers — including Dan Bahmari, who as of August became one of our very own Senior Product Engineers. We caught up with Dan to track his journey from Silicon Milkroundabout all the way to our lovely Accurx office in Shoreditch.

Our team chatting away with attendees at the May event :)

So Dan, what took you to Silicon Milkroundabout earlier this year?

I’d been considering a change of job just before the event last year and my girlfriend was going to represent her company so suggested I come along. I’d been looking for job roles online and wasn’t feeling very inspired by the process so I thought meeting people in person and hearing about their companies would be a lot more fun. I’m glad I did!

What your experience was on the day (general event vibes etc)?

It was fun. It was quite busy and there were a lot of companies there. I had to do a couple of loops to get my bearings and figure out which companies I was interested in. Most company stalls had the positions they were hiring for clearly visible and everyone was given stickers to stick on their lanyards to display areas of expertise, which made it easy to get the conversation started.

I spent a couple of hours there. In that time, I had good conversations with five or six different companies, dropped in to a few just for the free swag of course. And most importantly I met some friendly folk from Accurx!

What drew you to Accurx?

I already knew of Accurx because a friend of mine used to work here but I didn’t know Accurx was hiring and had no idea how much the company had grown. The Accurx setup at Silicon Milkroundabout was quite cool. You had a corner all to yourself with some sofas. I spoke to Ayrton who was super friendly and then to Mark who painted a great picture of Accurx’s engineering culture.

When I got home I was excited about Accurx and that only grew when I started reading the blog and discovered how open and transparent Accurx is — things like having a public roadmap, employee handbook and progression framework.

During my interview process, I also found Accurx at the London LeadDev conference where Humayra and Jenny both gave great talks.

How was your experience as a candidate at Accurx?

I’m really not saying this just to be kind, but interviewing with Accurx was the best interview process I’ve experienced by quite a long way. It took quite a bit of time and energy to prepare for the interviews but each step of the way I was told clearly what to expect, what the interviewer’s expectations would be and how to best prepare.

Every step in the process made me want to work at Accurx even more. I was so excited when I got the job offer I almost fell off my chair! (It’s true, ask Sally).

How’s life at Accurx?

I’m really enjoying myself. I’ve only ever worked at smaller companies so I’m having to adjust to the size and the fast growth. Especially seeing how the frontend team is growing, it feels like a formative time to come on board.

The office culture is amazing, working remotely before Accurx I missed that feeling of being part of a great team and achieving something great together. That’s what I feel at Accurx.

Our Dan-tastic Senior Product Engineer!

We’re always looking for brilliant engineers like Dan. If you’d like to join our team, check out our careers page for the latest vacancies.

--

--