Siddartha

adii
Exhale with Adii Pienaar
3 min readJul 22, 2017
Photo by Jake Melara on Unsplash

I recently read Siddartha by Herman Hesse, and it has turned out to be one of the most profound books that I have read (the kind that broadens one’s perspective of the universe) and possibly the best book I’ve read this year.

Below are the words that I wrote down immediately after I had finished reading the book. There is no obvious segue from one paragraph to the next, but there is an element of flow; at least in the way that I wrote it.

The words represent the ideas and reminders that most resonated with me and that I have re-read often since first writing them down.

Every person has their journey. Often that journey involves many wrong turns, pursuits of desires and fleeting experiences of the indulgence of worldly pleasures. This is probably exactly how we “find” ourselves; once we have exhausted all obvious ways to find ourselves, we come to the truth which was always present: when we stop seeking, we will find.

It is possible to love too much and be too kind; as a way in which it can be punitive or limiting to another person. This doesn’t make the act of love or kindness bad or wrong from the perspective of the giver, but the other side of that consideration is another, unique individual’s. That should be respected and considered.

Sometimes the best way to love is to allow another (loved one) to pursue their path. How bad is it really when a son merely makes the same mistakes as his father in pursuing his path?

We can seek out teachers, listen and learn intently. We can seek enlightenment, nirvana and the Atman. We can do all of these things as a way to discover Self or to hide from Self. Neither right nor wrong, it is possible that we do all of these things merely as a distraction to our minds. These distractions are mostly ephemeral, and the truth is always there. “Non-eternal things change quickly.”

How often do I do things merely to distract my mind from suffering? From sitting in this discomfort? How often do I convince myself that these distractions are real? Because they probably are on the surface and when viewed in isolation. When considered in the context of the suffering I’m hoping to avoid, they are merely a temporary distraction. This might be a good coping mechanism in the moment, but even the short-term I would need to return to a clear mind where suffering is just the truth of this moment. Enlightenment might be the ability (opportunity?) to sit in suffering without feeling sadness.

If you enjoyed this story, please recommend by clicking on the ❤ below. :)

Other things you can do to show your love:

  • Get all of my new content in your inbox (sign up above).
  • Share this story on Twitter / Facebook / everywhere.
  • Follow me and / or this publication.

--

--

adii
Exhale with Adii Pienaar

Currently working on Conversio (@getconversio). Previously: Co-Founder / CEO of @WooThemes. Also: New dad & ex-Rockstar. More at http://adii.me.