3. The Breisgau Brazilians

Analysing SC Freiburg vertical 4–4–2 in FM 18

Thomas Paine
Crujffista

--

After a quick overview of the striking force at my disposal I immediately understood one thing: we lacked quality so I went for quantity, adding other three strikers to the four already at the club.

I rotate them.

A lot.

This way I can understand more about how they work and most of all how different partnerships could improve their effectiveness.

The numbers say Lucas Holer is my best striker, I play him in the advanced forward role, he works well alongside Florian Niederlechner, a defensive forward with good passing skills.

Phil Neville, my assistant manager, says Keinan Davis (19 yrs) and Dejan Joveljic (18) have more potential than their older teammates, I have to agree and at least one of them will join on a permanent basis at the end of the season, the second, with an agreed price of 750 k, is a huge favourite.

Meamwhile Goncalo Paciencia and Janik Haberer were disappointing so far, I tested them in both roles but their scoring ratio didn’t impress me.

We’re during the winter break at the moment, no football for three weeks in Germany and while the transfer window is open I could look for some bargains, I’d love to have a better backup option for my left back Christian Gunter.

0.48 is our scoring conversion ratio

The most interesting thing about our 442 so far is that in spite of being a tactic mainly based on wing play, we’re scoring a lot from through balls as well, I think that quick tempo is involved here, even with short passing set my players often try to execute a vertical pass to unlock our opponents defensive system, decent passing skills play a role as well.

A balanced buid-up

Our form was decent in the league, the board asked me to stay far from relegation and we’re doing that, obviously we can’t afford to make too many mistakes as the league table is still tight, anyway we’re doing even better in the Europa League…

2017.18: Bundesliga mid-season table

Read more about this: part 4, part 2, part 1

--

--

Thomas Paine
Crujffista

Football fanatic, strategy gamer, Football Manager lover and huge Juventus fan, writes about the beautiful game.