1437 Tops Axie Infinity: Origins Season 2

The AxieCon grand champion completes the Origins Axie Arena three-peat

Enzo | BattleRiot
Axie Archives
3 min readFeb 24, 2023

--

Lunacian Code: BattleRiot

METAT8’s 1437 had a late final era grind to come out on top and claim the Axie Infinity: Origins season 2 crown.

Origins wrapped up last February 22 with the eventual champion leading the pack with a good 17 stars ahead of second placer, Wargos of QU3ST. 1437’s season 2 crown marks the third straight Axie Infinity: Origins crown, reasserting his dominance over the game.

Source: 1437 Twitter

“The season was tough near the end because of a huge blunder I had a few days before the season ended and the lead of the top 1 player was incredibly high and it almost felt as if it was impossible to reach against a team most assumed had broken the meta,” Theeban Siva shared. “My goal was to just do the best I can and see where I end up because I was really busy with my personal life.”

Focused on his family as they welcomed their second child, Siva made a late push towards the latter part of the final era. What makes the feat amazing is that he even dropped from 2100 stars down to 1850 with three days remaining. But the world champion wasn’t to be denied as he climbed within reach of the top spot with a few minutes remaining in the season.

“I think I only reached #1 for the first time this season with 5 hours left and then 15 mins before the season ended I was #2, it really came down to who can get more MMR out of the last game and I luckily was able to secure the win,” 1437 shared. “Fortunately for me, my wife made the sacrifice of taking care of the children herself for a few days so that I have more time to play and work things out. So that was extremely helpful for me.”

Source: 1437’s Twitter

Season 2 was ultimately a big change from the prior season. The Era system brought new flavor to the game, with each era having their own winner. QU3ST’s Meatvalue took home the Rare Era title, his teammate FF Plz was the Epic Era champion, and YGG’s Zeliaser topped the Mystic Era. As far as team compositions are concerned, season 2 was more diverse compared to the first season. For those looking forward to the next season, the Season 2 champion has some advice to share.

“I think top 100 isn’t the only way that you can have a positive season. I think as long as your team has out performed its capabilities, you have succeeded. That’s how I always saw it. I don’t really like to spend too much on my axies and I prefer just to play with things I already have or maybe just bred. I think this season, the era I spent the most amount on was the era that I did the worst in. So that was a lesson for me. It’s a great thing to just set some personal goals and just try to push for it,” said the three time Origins Champion.

Check out the Axie Infinity substack to see the changes to Axie Infinity: Origins for the offseason.

Support the Axie Archives by using our Lunacian Code: AxieArchives when purchasing assets off the marketplace on App.Axie

--

--

Enzo | BattleRiot
Axie Archives

Blockchain Gaming Economist. Axie Infinity Community Member. A gamer that writes about Web3 games.