This or That: Bro-lentine’s Day Challenge

A Brett Jenae Tomlin challenge (theanxiousenthusiast)

--

A black man wearing a suit for a This Or That Brolentine’s challenge in Medium
Photo by Taylor Grote on Unsplash

I’m baaaaaccck! 😃

I know, it’s been only two weeks, but it feels like months passed. Let me tell you, when you try to trick your mind in doing something you’re not used to, a week can feel like months. I’ve been itching to return here. Good thing I used practical advice from my family.

I’m not a pro as yet, however, I’m still learning to manage both tasks that demand consistency (so far). Naturally, I’m a “focus on one thing at a time” person. Like I mentioned, I kept my promise. ✌🏽

Psst. if you’ve read my Valentimes’s story, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

By the way, Brett Jenae Tomlin, thank you for life for your challenges. Keep them coming, I’ll always hop on. 😄

Everyone, before you start playing this challenge, please read the submission guidelines:

Well, let’s get to it.

This or That?

  1. Beard or No Beard?
    Beard. A small chevron and goatee beard is growing on my face, yay!
  2. Superman or Spiderman?
    Superman. He got most of the marvel characters’ powers. Spiderman is cool too though.
  3. Mobsters or Detectives?
    If we talking about movies, then I choose Mobster movies. Their 60s type of music makes me nostalgic. Even their storyline is mostly dope (maybe because of its history). Well, everyone knows this classic:
    * Tommy Devito accent * “funny how? How am I funny?”
GIPHY

4. Jeans or Cargo Pants?
Jeans. I wear them everywhere in any occassion.

5. Camouflage or Plaid?
None. I like plain clothes with different colours. Makes my life simple when choosing what to wear for any occassion. Sometimes, I add variations like striped stuff.

6. Board Games or Video Games?
Video games. Who isn’t into FIFA, Fortnite or at least PubG? Then you’re not a human, and I’m sorry you are living in the wrong era 🙄. Oh, here’s a funny fact: we can now play boardgames in videogames. 😄

7. Pink or Blue?
Both. Pink for sunny days and blue for any normal day. I keep life that simple.

8. Prince or Metallica?
If we talking about royal life, then I choose to be a Prince. That power and freedom, basically royal life, is true bliss. I cannot imagine anyone who doesn’t want this. Those who don’t want this life, I consider them a 1% of the world population. 😏

A beer bottle pouring beer into a glass bottle for a This Or That Challenge
Photo by Gerrie van der Walt on Unsplash

9. Whisky or Beer?
Beer. Only four 750ml beer cans, I’ve had enough. By this time, I’m drunk as eff.

10. Betty Boop or Jessica Rabbit?
Jessica Rabbit. She is symmetrical and has a more human body shape. If Betty Boop had a human-sized head, I would pick her. 😄

11. Basketball or Football?
Football. Since I don’t go out much, I prefer playing a football video game instead.

12. Dolls or Hot Wheels?
Both. Even tea parties used to be my thing. During my childhood, there was no “blue is for boys” and “pink is for girls.” We did everything together.

13. Pin Up or Pin Down?
Pin Down. It is advisable so that no one steps on one by mistake. 😟

Fruits packed in a square basket for the This or That Brolentine’s challenge
Photo by Jonas Kakaroto on Unsplash

14. Fruit or Vegetables?
Fruit. Like I said, I like quick food, so it’s grab and go. Unlike vegetables that you’ve to cook, stir, add what-what and after an hour or so, it’s done. Bler! Boooring. 😒

15. Peanut Butter & Jelly or Peanut Butter & Marshmellow?
Peanut Butter & Jelly. Yes, this is where I’ve patience in taking the time to smear each slice.

16. Root Beer or Cream Soda?
Cream Soda. Like before, I stick to what I know. Never had root bear before. Well, I’m open to trying it.

17. Book or Movie?
Movie. Even though I enjoy reading novels and stuff, sometimes I prefer a visual show of what the story is about.

18. Pirates or Poseidon?
Pirates. I still revist old movies like Pirates Of The Caribbean. This is when nostalgia and my love for medieval stuff want my attention.

19. Trains or Dinosaurs?
Any. Trust me, in video games you’ll find countless interesting variations.

20. Alter-ego or Mini Me?
Mini Me. It would be interesting to give life to a similar version of me, who would have different perspectives than mine. Well, some of us do have alter-egos that automatically switch on everytime we’re in different environments. So, it’s not that interesting if you think about it.

If you enjoyed this piece, follow me and subscribe to my newsletter for poems, short stories, challenges, and more, at no charge to you. You can also connect with me on other platforms.

Copyright © Mbhango Lefoka

--

--