This or That: Valentime’s Day Challenge

A Brett Jenae Tomlin challenge (theanxiousenthusiast)

Mbhango Lefoka
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
5 min readFeb 9, 2023

--

6 pink hearts in a row for a challenge
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Thank you very much Brett Jenae Tomlin for tagging me on another challenge. I greatly appreciate it. If you wanna check out how I played on the previous challenge, you can go here. Or you wanna know my answers to the 5 Favourite Phrases Challenge then go here.

As promised, Grace Bianco, here’s my version of the challenge.

Ok, now kids, it’s playtime!

By the way, I know you’re excited, that’s why you’re here, right? Before you start, I advise you to read BJ’s submission guidelines before you play:

This or That?

1. White Chocolate or Dark Chocolate?
Dark chocolate. Why? Because it tastes good and has a positive stereotype of making your partner feel valued and hot! Well, the white one is mostly found in a church, outside buffets, family gatherings, and so on. It’s cool too, but I prefer dark chocolate more.

2. Massages or Bubble Baths?
Massages. It helps loosen up my lower back and chest which sometimes gets stiff.

3. Romantic or Cynic?
Romantic. Coming up with fun and creative ideas helps change the boring cycle of a traditional date.

4. Red Light or Green Light?
Green light. The colour itself gives me comfort and reminds me of nature’s peacefulness. The other one is danger, run away, “negative warnings coming ahead!” signs.

5. Phones or No Phones?
Phones. We can do video calls when we miss each other, call, text, and do a lot of stuff with phones. It would be rude if your partner used it during a date.

A man wearing a blue shirt with an interested look
Photo by Billy Chester on Unsplash

6. Love at First Sight or Slow Burn Love?
Both. It starts with love at first sight, I ask her out, and we hang out. Time flies, we’re now dating.

7. Appetizers or Dessert?
Dessert. Nothing beats that custard and jelly combination after the main meal.

8. Thin or Thick?
Any. I’m mostly attracted to thick women. Now I understand that love is not solely based on physical appearance. There are a lot of things like personality, respect, emotional maturity, etc.

9. Flowers or Candy?
Candy. You wanna make my day? Buy me at least five sweets, put an appreciation handwritten letter inside, and wrap everything in a cute box. Guys need to be pampered sometimes.

10. Going Out or Staying In?
Staying in. I don’t why, but going out a lot lowers my energy. I prefer being indoors and play games, watch movies, read stuff, etc. Going out is a now-and-then thing for me.

Photo by Somnox Sleep on Unsplash

11. Cheese or No Cheese?
Cheese. Since I like quick food, I rely on sandwiches when I’m lazy to cook. It is useful for a shortcut meal. 😄

12. Music or Mood Lighting?
Music. It is way more fun with a looping lo-fi playlist on a softly heard volume. Snacks, biscuits, and a glass of milk are on the table. To end it off, smoke weed. Mother-father! I tell you, this is heaven.

13. Acts of Service or Words of Affirmation?
Words of Affirmation. They help with lifting my mood when I’m feeling down. Some of them even give me practical advice on the problems I may be facing.

14. Scented or Unscented?
Scented. Strawberry-scented candles are the best.

15. Whipped Cream or Strawberries?
Strawberries. They give that romantic touch, especially when you feed one to your special someone.

Photo by Zachary Nelson on Unsplash

16. Online Dating or IRL?
IRL. You can read a lot of non-verbal cues from a stranger you’ve had a three-minute talk with. In online stuff, you can too, buuut you’ll have to depend on the choice of words and their expression of them. Intuition may help in dissecting feelings.

17. Mystery or Open Book?
Mystery. If you talking about movies, then I’m into mystery ones with complicated plots. I enjoy that feeling of understanding something that wasn’t spoon-fed to me.

18. Silk or Flannel?
Flannel. I like flannel shirts, coats and so on. I’ve never owned anything with silk material.

19. King or Queen?
King. Since my childhood, I've always wanted to be in leadership positions. Being a king is one of them. When I watch medieval movies like GOT, it gives me that feeling, you know? I think growing reading historical figures may have had an influence in me.

20. Espresso or Dinner Mint?
Espresso. It is way more enjoyable when it befriends at least four creamed cross buns in the morning. Yes, I can eat heavy meals at any time of the day, without it affecting my appetite or weight. 😄

sleeping cat
Photo by Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

I know this is too sudden: I’ll be taking a break from Medium. No masterplan in sight 😄. I’ll probably be back after a few weeks or months. Just need to sharpen my other hobby skills.

However, I would like to thank the following people for making Medium a welcoming and fun experience for me:

Janet Goh, CDTPPW, Sshreagi, Nom de Plume, Poni the Scribbler, Dranéa, Tree, Lifeguardmydear, Ofentse Manchidi, Tejasvani, TheTamiloreJenrola, Aditya, Normal Earthling, Leonard Tillerman, Lean_dough, The Silent Monk.

Even if we may not have met in person, our interactions here mean a lot to me. Until next time.

Peace! ✌🏽

If you enjoyed this piece, follow me and subscribe to my newsletter for poems, short stories, challenges, and more, at no charge to you. You can also connect with me on other platforms.

Copyright © Mbhango Lefoka

--

--

Mbhango Lefoka
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

South African writer | Romance, Fiction, Challenges, Poems, Realism.